1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Calling the Adsense Police!

Discussion in 'Guidelines / Compliance' started by flyered, Jul 25, 2005.

  1. #1
    Ok, I've had 2 beers but they haven't hit me -that- hard:

    Go to http://www.softhall.com/Lanap-BotDetect-for-ASP-Download-11743.htm
    SEMrush
    Click the 'Download' button. It seems as if there is a Skyscraper Adsense unit that flashes in the same place where the download button is clicked. Just for a blink. It doesn't take you to the ad destination page.

    I am using Firefox.

    Can someone verify that I am not hallucinating and that this guy needs to be nailed to the wall?
     
    flyered, Jul 25, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    It worked fine for me in FF. What KIND of beer are you drinking?
     
    mopacfan, Jul 25, 2005 IP
    Blogmaster likes this.
  3. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    778
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I can replicate that but think it's dodgy CSS instead of anything malicious.
     
    T0PS3O, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  4. North Carolina SEO

    North Carolina SEO Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #4
    But really...what kind of beer are you drinking? ;)
     
    North Carolina SEO, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  5. david_sakh

    david_sakh Peon

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    i saw it. christ. :eek:

    I don't know if I'll ever move on from tables.
     
    david_sakh, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  6. Design Agent

    Design Agent Peon

    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    154
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    That big downward arrow is either very clever or not..
     
    Design Agent, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  7. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    You should see how msnbc looks when it loads some of it's ads when you have FF w/ shockwave turned off. What a mess.
     
    mopacfan, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  8. flyered

    flyered Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Holstein. Good german beer from Hamburg.

    As for the page in question.. it may be 'incorrect css' but what are the odds that the add unit would appear -exactly- where everyone would be likely to click and only when that button is clicked. It smacks of advanced click fraud to me.. I'm surprised that someone said they can't see it in Firefox.
     
    flyered, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  9. exam

    exam Peon

    Messages:
    2,434
    Likes Received:
    120
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I'd actually be more concerned with the "related links" text above the right tower.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ad.JPG
      ad.JPG
      File size:
      17.1 KB
      Views:
      140
    exam, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  10. activeco

    activeco Guest

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    In Firefox, I have noticed those ghost ads to be the same ads as in the skyscraper on the right side of the page.
    I am with tops30; probably CSS problem.
     
    activeco, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  11. jjo

    jjo Peon

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    It flashed for me, too. WinXP Firefox...
     
    jjo, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  12. Worldwid

    Worldwid Peon

    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    22
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    It doesnt seem like google is registering the clicks though, if they are, that guy is making some serious cash I bet if his traffic is decent, thats pretty clever but a little to noticable to ever use and expect not to get banned.
     
    Worldwid, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  13. TooHappy

    TooHappy Guest

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    That is a LOT of cash to pay for an automated security graphic!
     
    TooHappy, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  14. exaro

    exaro Peon

    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    39
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Yeah exam not even the Related Links text, but the HUGE arrow pointing down above it. Hahaha I know they put the text above and below, but still, it's pretty blatant.
     
    exaro, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  15. bluelarva

    bluelarva Peon

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I don't see any JavaScript to make this happen purposely. I think this is just a glitch and it's not some intentional means to generate clicks.
     
    bluelarva, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  16. toocoolforschool

    toocoolforschool Peon

    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    31
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Man, I'm such a sucker. I've spent all this time making sites that actually have content, when the real money is in crap sites tailor made for Adsense. Call me a sucker and slap me with a monkey. I've seen the light! Content is for suckers!
     
    toocoolforschool, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  17. Stin

    Stin Guest

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    guys this is just CSS and FF working together. In one of my sites the layout was completely done with CSS and when you clicked the submit button on my login form the adsense wide skyscraper below it would jump ontop of the form. I am almost 100% positive that you can't generate a click like that. You would atleast see a connection to google (which registers the click and then forwards you to the advertisers page) in the status bar of your browser.
     
    Stin, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  18. NeoGen

    NeoGen Writer

    Messages:
    2,304
    Likes Received:
    301
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #18
    NeoGen, Jul 25, 2005 IP
  19. T-Bone

    T-Bone Peon

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Regardless how many times I tried to view this using Firefox I couldn't get to replicate the problem.

    Maybe I need some Holsten?
     
    T-Bone, Jul 26, 2005 IP
  20. wissam

    wissam Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,289
    Likes Received:
    78
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #20
    Hahaha .. thats normal , a lot of times I see adsense flash on my FF when the page load , it's an Iframe bug on FF ..
    once I found my adsense on my shout box I frame , it was like they are trading places , it's normal ..
     
    wissam, Jul 26, 2005 IP