1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Best Forum Software

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by Toplink, Mar 9, 2015.

Hi,

A Forum Software question.

Sorry if this is not in the correct sub forum............

I have a forum about 8 years old based on vBulletin. But I think I need to change. The site has been extensively hacked and I've wasted a lot of time and money trying to get it fixed.

I've hired lots of third party 'experts' to assist me and they never quite get the forum fixed.

I have asked vBulletin directly for help, but they do not provide hands on fixing, only advice. I'm not a techie, so I need someone to actually fix it.

Maybe it's time to change our Forum software?

A friend uses XenForo and that looks good. I suspect this forum uses the same software.

Any tips on your 'top 3' for forum software would be great. I don't mind about licence and support costs if they are reasonable. i.e. Not just looking for free stuff.
    SEMrush
    The essentials to me are:

1. Widely used and accepted (it works)
    2. Easy to use
    3. Robust security and not easily hacked
    4. Good support (really important. Don't mind if it costs extra)
    5. Easy to upgrade or re-skin
    Maybe there are other 'essentials' you would include?
    Any suggestions most appreciated.

Toplink, Mar 9, 2015 IP
    SEMrush
  2. internext

internext Active Member

Best Answers:
    My top 3 would be, in no particular order:
    Invision Power Services IP.Board -- New community focus in v4 with apps that interconnect and add to overall participation.
    Woltlab Burning Board -- Great forum but also has other products developed in house for smooth integration.