1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Become.com goes into Beta

Discussion in 'All Other Search Engines' started by seo-ireland, Feb 12, 2005.

  1. #1
    You can now try out the new shopping search engine at Become.com http://www.become.com/beta/ that recently went into beta. I tried it out and it is pretty nice actually. It will be competition for Froogle for sure.

    Don't know about you guys but I have had their Bot crawling my sites on numerous occasions.
     
    seo-ireland, Feb 12, 2005 IP
  2. da22in

    da22in Peon

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    ahhhh..been seeing the become domain in my logs for the last several days, now I understand what it is. Excellent...hope it's free like Froogle.
     
    da22in, Feb 12, 2005 IP
  3. seo-ireland

    seo-ireland Peon

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I forsee an intense battle between Froogle and Become. There is a lot of money to be made.

    John Glick has left Yahoo to join the Become team and Chris Kermoian, formerly of Alta Vista is the Vice President of Product Management. They're serious.
     
    seo-ireland, Feb 12, 2005 IP
  4. wkw

    wkw Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    30
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    148
    #4
    I started noticing the BecomeBot/1.23 show up in my logs on Jan 02. I immediately followed the url given in the user-agent string and had a look around. The President and CEO is Michael Yang, founder of MySimon.

    I signed up for the Beta... they're running AdSense, heh heh.
     
    wkw, Feb 12, 2005 IP
  5. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Do they only plan to build SE for shopping? I recently added e-commerce in my sites, but I did see their bot activity before that, so I'm wondering.
     
    ohcnetwork, Feb 19, 2005 IP
  6. clasione

    clasione Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    158
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    198
    #6
    It's beginning to create a bit of a "buzz" around other forums aswell from intense server logs.... :rolleyes:
     
    clasione, Feb 20, 2005 IP
  7. justicewhite

    justicewhite Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #7
    How do we "invite" the Become spider onto our sites?
     
    justicewhite, Feb 20, 2005 IP
  8. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I don't think you need to do anything besides getting IBL. The way to get indexed in any SE is to get IBL.
     
    ohcnetwork, Feb 20, 2005 IP
  9. seo-ireland

    seo-ireland Peon

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Yep just get backlinks, that will do it. I've looked through their documentation and it seems there is no Submit URL form at present.
     
    seo-ireland, Feb 20, 2005 IP
  10. exam

    exam Peon

    Messages:
    2,434
    Likes Received:
    120
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Yeah, I've been seeing their bot since Oct/Nov. Their UI looks so similar to Google's, that they are either trying to copy a good design model or they are actually Google in disguise, so that if you don't like Google, you can go to the 'competition'
     
    exam, Feb 21, 2005 IP
  11. neterslandreau

    neterslandreau Peon

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    awstats doesn't know about BecomeBot so it's hits get thrown into the normal visitor stats. I saw it first a few months ago and I thought someone was slurping my sites.

    I went to their beta site, signed up, got the research form, did my query, and got kicked back to the login page. Oh well..
     
    neterslandreau, Feb 23, 2005 IP
  12. riziko

    riziko Peon

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I added the BecomeBot to my awstats configuration. It is pretty easy. Just open up AwStats\wwwroot\cgi-bin\lib\robots.pm in a text editor and add 'BecomeBot' under
    @RobotsSearchIDOrder_list2 and %RobotsHashIDLib

    Ross
     
    riziko, Feb 23, 2005 IP
    neterslandreau likes this.
  13. neterslandreau

    neterslandreau Peon

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Thanks Ross. I thought it was fairly simple to add a definition but it was such a low priority, I never took the time to figure it out.

     
    neterslandreau, Feb 24, 2005 IP
  14. Cygnus

    Cygnus Cat Herder

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #14
    It is about time they went live with the beta...I was considering blocking them in the robots.txt with all the spidering that has been going on.
     
    Cygnus, Feb 24, 2005 IP
  15. neterslandreau

    neterslandreau Peon

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    That thought crossed my mind too. Then I figured, what the heck, it's not a lot of bandwidth..
     
    neterslandreau, Feb 25, 2005 IP
  16. Cygnus

    Cygnus Cat Herder

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    108
    #16
    My log file today is 2Mb bigger because of become.com -- is their crawler stupid?

    I signed up for the beta but am not impressed yet...if anything, it'd make a good addition for someone like AskJeeves, but I don't see it lasting as a stand-alone shopping engine.
     
    Cygnus, Feb 25, 2005 IP
  17. goplanit

    goplanit Peon

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    I can't find that file when I ftp to my server, but I can see it if I type the path into the browser. Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong?
     
    goplanit, Feb 27, 2005 IP
  18. riziko

    riziko Peon

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    If you are using shared hosting your ftp account has a "home" directory which is your little section of the hard drive. e.g. D:\website\goplanit_com\

    AwStats might be shared between all of the websites via a virtual/mapped directory. e.g. D:\AwStats\ So you can't just go in and edit it. I have a dedicated server so I can change whatever I want. You might ask your hosting company to make the changes for you.

    Ross
     
    riziko, Feb 27, 2005 IP
  19. Sirxl

    Sirxl Peon

    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    cool...awaiting that robot on my site
     
    Sirxl, Mar 3, 2005 IP
  20. Qal

    Qal Peon

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    How good it maybe but registering to search isnt a good idea actually, not for beta atleast. Anyone else here does'nt mind it at all?
     
    Qal, Mar 4, 2005 IP