1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Basics of SEO

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by crath, Jul 5, 2009.

Hello all, I've been a dev for awhile, and never really played in the crazy world of SEO.

I recently setup a forum that discusses a certain motorcycle that was just recently released, KTM's RC8. I have yet to find another site focused on the RC8 alone, but there are some KTM forums and such.

I have some basic keywords in, and a somewhat generic site description in, and wanted to know if you could throw any tips at me to get it a little better suited for SEO

thanks guys!

edit: forgot to include the link if you wanted to check out how I have stuff setup sofar, http://RC8riders.com

crath, Jul 5, 2009 IP
  2. JessieJames27

JessieJames27 Active Member

Best Answers:
    Since that niche is not that very competitive, it would be easy for you to outrank other websites. Create more threads and optimize it on-page. Forums are really hard to promote, so prepare for a hard work of building links and promotion.

JessieJames27, Jul 5, 2009 IP
  3. tchooks

tchooks Peon

Best Answers:
    Get incoming links to your site, using the anchor text "KTM's RC8".

tchooks, Jul 6, 2009 IP
  4. steve_gts

steve_gts Active Member

Best Answers:
    I would change your keywords in the metta tags a bit, I always think you should always only use a word 3 times, also make the desciption meta a bit longer and if possible, change the title to exactly what you think people would search for.

Then yes, backlinks which include the search term, but do mix them up a bit, if all your B/L's have the same text you could get a Google penalty.