1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Base Weight / Tracking ?

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by yo-yo, Oct 28, 2004.

  1. #1
    Hi,

    I put the coop ad network ads on my phpBB forum and my "base weight" is 885....
    SEMrush
    I know the "higher" your weight the more "chance" your ad has of being shown but is there any better tracking info than this ?

    With a base of 885 what should I expect to see in return? Is there any kind of tracking info to see how many impressions my ad has recieved? Or how many sites it was displayed on.. etc?

    Is 885 a low-med-high number in comparison with the majority of users? What is the scale high-low ?
     
    yo-yo, Oct 28, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Sorvoja

    Sorvoja Don't hide my ads!

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Hi, I think the maximum weight (not counting referals) are 25600, so 885 would be in the lower end. You could expect the same amount of exposure on other sites in the network as you provide on your own sites. To be techical you are really getting a lot more than you put in due to the crawl pattern of Gbot.
     
    Sorvoja, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  3. disgust

    disgust Guest

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    133
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    you can have more than 25,600 without referals :)
     
    disgust, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  4. Sorvoja

    Sorvoja Don't hide my ads!

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Hi,

    I am sorry for giving false info. What is the limit then?
     
    Sorvoja, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  5. a389951l

    a389951l Must Create More Content

    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    65
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #5
    The limit is based on a number of factors: number of indexed pages in google, pr, # of links on the page, # of coop ads running. There is probably other factors that only Shawn knows.
     
    a389951l, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  6. rwhetsto

    rwhetsto Peon

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    The highest I have heard of was 88,000 or somewhere there abouts. The lowest was 2. I would imagine shawn's weight is a bit higher than 88,000 but I don't know.
     
    rwhetsto, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  7. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #7
    I must have the lowest of all. One of my sites is a zero (0).
     
    ResaleBroker, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  8. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #8
    No, I don't have any site with a base above that (or even at that). Most of my weight comes from referrals.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  9. flawebworks

    flawebworks Tech Services

    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #9
    DOn't feel lonesome. I have a zero as well.
     
    flawebworks, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  10. rwhetsto

    rwhetsto Peon

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Sorry, I thought we were talking about total weight.
     
    rwhetsto, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  11. maha

    maha Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #11
    I have the big "0" too... :-(
     
    maha, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  12. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #12
    Does Google know about any of your pages yet? That really should be the only reason you would have a 0 weight, would be if Google does not know about a single page in your site.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  13. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #13
    In my case "No." But soon enough it will.:)
     
    ResaleBroker, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  14. yo-yo

    yo-yo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,620
    Likes Received:
    205
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #14
    hmm ok.. considering there are ppl with 88,000 my 850 seems like squat...

    is there any plans for creating some kind of tracking? Again, like a "how many impressions" or how many clicks or something just to see what kind of results im getting?

    And i also saw that someone was banned for using multiple accounts... I have multiple sites but didnt see anywhere to "add a second, or third" sites to my account so i assumed each site needed it own?
     
    yo-yo, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  15. disgust

    disgust Guest

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    133
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    you can have multiple accounts. they weren't banned for that aspect, they were abusing a loophole that's now closed...

    basic stats will come later- but I doubt impressions will be tracked (it wouldn't be possible using the current code...) basic stats that (from my understanding of things) seemed likely were things like: number of users signed up, number of pages in the network, and % chance that your ad will be shown on any given load of a page

    to increase your weight, try the following: participate on multiple sites, display the ads on as many pages as possible, and run multiple ads. or you can refer new people to the network :)
     
    disgust, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  16. yo-yo

    yo-yo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,620
    Likes Received:
    205
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    185
    #16
    Ok just so im clear -

    I can use my referrer URL to sign up all of my other sites on seperate accounts (maybe 10 total) and that does not violate any terms or "cheat" in any way?

    Thanks!
     
    yo-yo, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  17. disgust

    disgust Guest

    Messages:
    2,417
    Likes Received:
    133
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    because of the way it's set up, you won't benefit from doing that.

    but go ahead and try if you want. it won't harm anything :)
     
    disgust, Oct 28, 2004 IP
  18. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    it is set up so that if your sites weight is 1000, 100 of that will go to the referral.
     
    schlottke, Oct 28, 2004 IP