1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Backlink Update 20070614

Discussion in 'Google' started by mvandemar, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. #1
    Just got a Google Alerts saying backlinks have been updated. Anyone else seeing it?
    SEMrush
    -Michael
     
    mvandemar, Jun 14, 2007 IP
    Brian1970 and usasportstraining like this.
    SEMrush
  2. Brian1970

    Brian1970 Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,887
    Likes Received:
    416
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    290
    #2
    Where did you get the alert from?

    Thanks Brian
     
    Brian1970, Jun 14, 2007 IP
    mvandemar likes this.
  3. trichnosis

    trichnosis Prominent Member

    Messages:
    13,785
    Likes Received:
    333
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #3
    which datacenters do you mean? can you give more detaisl pls?
     
    trichnosis, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  4. sundaybrew

    sundaybrew Numerati

    Messages:
    7,296
    Likes Received:
    1,260
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    560
    #4


    Yea - I second that ?

    Who alerted you ?

    Seeing no changes here......
     
    sundaybrew, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  5. mvandemar

    mvandemar Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    307
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #5
    Google Alerts:

    http://www.google.com/alerts

    You set it up to tell you when the top 10 results for a certain query change, and it emails you as it happens. I have it set up to tell me when [link:www.mysite.com] changes.

    -Michael
     
    mvandemar, Jun 14, 2007 IP
    Trapped likes this.
  6. Eskarina

    Eskarina Guest

    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    That's cool :p Thanks :D
     
    Eskarina, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  7. mhmdkhamis

    mhmdkhamis Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,093
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    145
    #7
    i cant see it
     
    mhmdkhamis, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  8. trichnosis

    trichnosis Prominent Member

    Messages:
    13,785
    Likes Received:
    333
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #8


    lol, it's great tip. i have created one for me:)
     
    trichnosis, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  9. zangief

    zangief Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    55
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    155
    #9
    The backlinks has changed for my new sites but for the old ones there is no change.
     
    zangief, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  10. Tearabite

    Tearabite Prominent Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    429
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #10
    YEP!
    I'm seeing about 35 more links via LINK:SITE.COM..
     
    Tearabite, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  11. mvandemar

    mvandemar Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    307
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #11
    Ok, it actually seems to be changing from one run to the next, but I do see diff results on diff dc's at diff times:

    [​IMG]

    The one with the question mark (?) is a dead dc at this time.

    However, when I go to the dc's directly, it can change from one refresh to the next. Try running the link command on here, for example:

    http://64.233.161.104/

    Hit refresh 10-15 times, see if the value changes for you.

    It looks like it might actually be a bug... I just got this for Google.com itself:

    Results 1 - 100 of about 1,600,000 linking to www.google.com. (1.29 seconds)
    which looks like it might be right, and then:
    Results 1 - 100 of about 970 linking to www.google.com. (1.31 seconds)

    Which isn't right at all.

    Oh, and this has got to be WAY wrong! :D

    Results 1 - 75 of 75 linking to www.yahoo.com. (1.99 seconds)

    [​IMG]

    So, heh, can a mod pls change the title of this to "Backlink Bug" instead of update please? Thanks :D

    -Michael
     
    mvandemar, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  12. stock_post

    stock_post Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,213
    Likes Received:
    249
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #12
    my back links on ayhu.com went up about 10 times.

    Looks like they did the update.
     
    stock_post, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  13. jaybong

    jaybong Peon

    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    jaybong, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  14. mvandemar

    mvandemar Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    307
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #14
    mvandemar, Jun 14, 2007 IP
    jaybong likes this.
  15. Zanswer

    Zanswer Peon

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Do you have to use www? For example when I check "link:yahoo.com" it says: Your search - link:yahoo.com - did not match any documents.

    Also it says the same for my site whether or not I use www. But Yahoo site explorer shows more than 50. Does it mean Google didn't count any of the backlinks to my site or it hasn't crawled it in a long time? Thanks. Need some help here.
     
    Zanswer, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  16. Tearabite

    Tearabite Prominent Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    429
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #16
    google will not show ALL your backlinks.. for more backlink data from Google, check out their WebMaster Tools..
     
    Tearabite, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  17. mvandemar

    mvandemar Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    307
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #17
    It also depends on when your site went live. How old is it?

    -Michael
     
    mvandemar, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  18. Firegirl

    Firegirl Peon

    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    105
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Hey, this is a great idea. Thanks for the information. Found any other alerts to set up that are helpful???
     
    Firegirl, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  19. mvandemar

    mvandemar Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    307
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #19
    Well... if you're someone who is prone to committing felonies, I always find that... I mean someone like that might find it useful to set up a Google News Alert for their own name. :D

    -Michael
     
    mvandemar, Jun 14, 2007 IP
  20. Aztral

    Aztral Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    125
    #20
    Woo Frickin Who!!!!
    I just checked my backlinks on Google's Webmaster tools. I'm up to 1524 from 26.

    Looks like a BL update. Use webmaster tools if unsure
     
    Aztral, Jun 14, 2007 IP