1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Avoid these SEO mistakes

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by FarrisFahad, Jan 17, 2017.

I have been doing SEO on my website for the past 2 years. I did not have any success, just a little, and I want you to learn from my mistakes ...

The first mistake that I did was targeting the wrong keywords. I hired an SEO firm to work on my website. The first step we took was keyword research. I did not know a lot back then, so I let the firm to choose a couple of non-competitive and some competitive keywords for me. The mistake was that they were not relevant to the website, well maybe the website, but not the page it was optimized for. Here is what happened ...

My website is about funny pictures, and the firm suggested that I optimize the homepage for the keyword [funny pictures without captions]. But the page, which was the homepage, was not relevant. I did not know then that it was a bad idea, so I went for it. Instead, I should've went for the keyword [funny pictures]. I know that it is a hard keyword to rank for, but you should always target relevant keywords. And here is why ...

The problem is that when you target a keyword that's not relevant, it might be easier to rank for these keyword, initially, but no one is going to click on your result, because simply it's not relevant to what they're searching for.