1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Automatic validation failed

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by jorisvdb, Nov 6, 2004.

  1. #1
    I've placed the ads on my site but I can't get it validated.
    SEMrush
    The ads are on the main page
    http://placex.be (-> links)
    and all the game pages e.g.
    http://placex.be/free-online-games/196/Free%20Online%20Games/Alien%20Hominid.htm

    Do you know what I'm doing wrong or how to validate my site?

    Regards,
    Joris
     
    jorisvdb, Nov 6, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. exam

    exam Peon

    Messages:
    2,434
    Likes Received:
    120
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Do you have the ads on *all* the pages on your site?
     
    exam, Nov 6, 2004 IP
  3. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #3
    Yes... all pages. or it won't pass the spot checks.
     
    thebassman, Nov 6, 2004 IP
  4. expat

    expat Stranger from a far land

    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I did fall for this. It needs to be on all pages

    can't see it on your links page for example
    M
     
    expat, Nov 7, 2004 IP
  5. vintageagain

    vintageagain Peon

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    vintageagain, Nov 7, 2004 IP
  6. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #6
    thebassman, Nov 7, 2004 IP
  7. vintageagain

    vintageagain Peon

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    yep bass...

    Its the only part of the website that is php driven at this time and I can't figure out how to insert into html pages. It worked on 3 other sites just fine.
     
    vintageagain, Nov 7, 2004 IP
  8. thebassman

    thebassman Asleep at the Keyboard

    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #8
    Hmmm... might have to wait for Shawn to check and see why it failed...
     
    thebassman, Nov 7, 2004 IP
  9. vintageagain

    vintageagain Peon

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Just failed on another site..

    http://www.marinecoat.com/links/

    Its a hit and miss work load today :)

    ---

    Added:
    Ok doing some testing. I configured the links to run in HTML and not PHP mode. The links show either way. Just a modwrite thing and how the pages are created.... If I point to

    http://www.marinecoat.com/links/resources.html
    It FAILS while in HTML mode.

    Setting the script to PHP mode and pointing to
    http://www.marinecoat.com/links/resources.php
    PASSES... its the SAME pages, just one shown as .html and the other .php

    Either way just pointing to http://www.marinecoat.com/links/
    FAILS the auto varification.

    I' like to run in HTML to lose the ?cat=57 in the URL..
    ====
    More testing..

    Pointing to
    http://www.vintageagain.com/default.php = PASS

    http://www.vintageagain.com/ = FAIL

    Doing this also drops my weight points from 18,000+ down to 986 points.
    It passes, but I lose LOTS of weight.. This site has over 4000+ pages

    ==
    http://www.stoprust.net/resources/resources.html = FAILS
    http://www.stoprust.net/resources/ = PASS

    Same type setup for all the sites. I have to pick and chose what workds and I lose weight no matter what.

    Thoughts ?
     
    vintageagain, Nov 7, 2004 IP
  10. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #10
    digitalpoint, Nov 8, 2004 IP
  11. vintageagain

    vintageagain Peon

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    vintageagain, Nov 8, 2004 IP
  12. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #12
    Not sure... if you set your base URL to those, I can check it for you.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 8, 2004 IP
  13. vintageagain

    vintageagain Peon

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    Done:

    One that passed
    Username : stoprust
    http://www.stoprust.net/resources/
    Ads appear to be live on your site (as of 2004-11-07).
    712 Total Weight

    The same type of directory failed on these

    Username marinecoat
    http://www.marinecoat.com/links/
    Site failed automatic validation as of 2004-11-08
    136 Total Weight

    Username autorust
    http://www.automotive-rust.com/web-resources/
    Site failed automatic validation as of 2004-11-08
    288 Total Weight


    This website failed too
    Username rustbullet
    http://www.vintageagain.com/
    Site failed automatic validation as of 2004-11-08
    18,000 Total Weight
     
    vintageagain, Nov 8, 2004 IP
  14. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #14
    digitalpoint, Nov 8, 2004 IP
  15. vintageagain

    vintageagain Peon

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    http://www.marinecoat.com/links/boating_directories.html

    No such page. I do not have a catagory called "boating directories" so I don't know were it's getting this from. If I did it was removed and doesn't appear now when I just tried to validate.

    http://www.automotive-rust.com/web-resources/racing.html

    Same as above..


    http://www.vintageagain.com/web-resources/automotive_parts_new.html

    You can't get to this page from the Home page < base URL> so why is it checking it ? I removed the link to the links pages to test validation. These are static pages not php and I can't get the code on it. Why is it checking a page it can't get to. A spider can't find it's way from the home pages to this directory anymore since last night.
     
    vintageagain, Nov 8, 2004 IP
  16. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #16
    For the pages missing, Google knows about the pages (which is what it uses for spot checks):

    http://www.google.com/search?q=inurl:www.marinecoat.com/links/boating_directories.html

    If you want to get it removed from Google's index quickly, you can use this:

    http://services.google.com/urlconsole/controller

    For vintageagain, it doesn't matter if the main page is linking to it or not. The ad network is for site-wide ads on a website. When Google no longer knows about the pages, it wouldn't be part of the spot-check.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 8, 2004 IP