1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Automated reciprocal link checker

Discussion in 'Link Development' started by jarvi, Mar 16, 2004.

  1. WilliamC

    WilliamC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    118
    #41
    he said he would make a free tool. He did that. It is not his fault if you can not use a script.
    SEMrush
     
    WilliamC, Jun 24, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. WilliamC

    WilliamC Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    118
    #42
    ok, here are 2 recip checkers I wrote in perl. both come with basic instructions for usage. Either could be made into a web app easily enough, but if you do this, please give credit where credit is due.


    First one:
    This is a commandline unix application, so it wont work in windows, but you can use it from SSH on your webserver.

    What it does:
    reads a text file of websites to check for your link.
    spiders the entire website looking for your link.
    if it finds your link it tells you.

    http://4retards.com/linkcheck.zip


    Second one:
    Gordon asked me to write a recip link checker that spiders your site looking for all outbound links, then follows them to see if your domains link is on their site somewhere. Thats what this second recip checker we have written does. And yes, it is free to use, but not free to modify, sell, make derivations of, etc.

    http://www.link-finders.com/recip-spider2.zip

    One thing to note about the second one, if the site you spider has a link to google, yahoo, or other large site, this sucker could take a good long time to run fully. :)
    Enjoy!
     
    WilliamC, Jun 24, 2004 IP
  3. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #43
    Great script! It works right out of the gate.

    In case I haven't said it before, thanks for everything Shawn!
     
    ResaleBroker, Sep 7, 2004 IP
  4. david_sakh

    david_sakh Peon

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    29
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #44
    " I didn't want digitalpoint.com to be somehow branded as a site that condones and helps reciprocal linkers"

    what's so wrong about checking up on who's linking back to you. It only seems fair that you should know...
     
    david_sakh, Sep 8, 2004 IP
  5. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,283
    Likes Received:
    2,599
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #45
    It has no use for me, because I don't ask people to link to me to begin with.
     
    digitalpoint, Sep 8, 2004 IP
  6. fluke

    fluke Guest

    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #46
    do you think luke ever got home?
     
    fluke, Sep 10, 2004 IP
  7. jbgilbert

    jbgilbert Peon

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #47
    Shawn's little link checker has served me well, but I've found some "weird" issue... can anybody help a bit? It's just not finding the link even though I know it is there?

    1) here is the script from Shawn:
    <?php
    $mydomain = "www.verticaldirectories.com"; // Set this to your domain
    $list = file_get_contents("sites.txt");
    $urls = explode ("\n", $list);
    ini_set (default_socket_timeout, "15");
    echo "<B>Checking back links to $mydomain....</B><P><FONT SIZE=-1>";
    foreach ($urls as $url) {
    if (strlen ($url)) {
    echo $url . "<B><FONT COLOR=";
    if (strpos (file_get_contents($url), $mydomain) != FALSE) {
    echo "GREEN> Found";
    } else {
    echo "RED> Missing";
    }
    echo "</FONT></B><BR>";
    }
    }
    echo "</FONT>";
    ?>

    2) here is the sites.txt file:
    http://www.frequentlyasked.info/Point_Of_Presence/Internet/
    http://www.frequentlyasked.info/Point_Of_Presence/Internet/

    3) AND here is what it keeps saying????

    Checking back links to www.verticaldirectories.com....
    http://www.frequentlyasked.info/Point_Of_Presence/Internet/ Missing
    http://www.frequentlyasked.info/Point_Of_Presence/Internet/ Missing
     
    jbgilbert, Sep 10, 2004 IP
  8. Samson

    Samson Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #48
    Hey Shawn, great code. I hope this question isn't too lame, but can I have the sites.txt located somewhere remote on the net? If so, how would I do that? thanks.
     
    Samson, Sep 13, 2004 IP
  9. Samson

    Samson Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #49
    ok, i figured it out on my own, and the easiest solution actually worked, and now i feel dumb for having asked to begin with. i replaced "sites.txt" with the complete URL to the remote site list, and everything was peachy. thanks
     
    Samson, Sep 13, 2004 IP
  10. Samson

    Samson Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #50
    Much like JBGilbert above, I'm getting some false negatives from this script, with no discernable reason why. JBGilbert, have you figured it out?
     
    Samson, Sep 14, 2004 IP
  11. ferret77

    ferret77 Heretic

    Messages:
    5,276
    Likes Received:
    230
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #51
    just digging up an old thread

    I put togather a recip links checker tied to a directory

    but it seems to properly check some of the time, which sort of sucks

    The directory is pretty simple but works pretty well except for the recip checker

    it will run link directories for mulitple sites in multiple locations, in php

    its pretty ghetto it just uses the snoopy class , not an xml feed or something more creative

    if any of you know how to fix it or want to give it a whirl I will share the code with you

    mine just uses the snoopy class to grab the links from an url

    and works great, most of the time, but that other part of the time is screwing with me
     
    ferret77, Jan 3, 2005 IP
  12. Western

    Western Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #52
    Hi everyone,

    I just start in PhP writting and I try the script of Shawn's everything goes ok with 2 links but when I put more than 2 it found the first and last link but all the middle link does find it! What's wrong? All the links below as been check and link back but the script does'nt find it all!!! Could someone help me? Thanks

    <B>Checking back links to www.tekclick.com/search/index.php....</B><P><FONT SIZE=-1>http://www.play-free-slots-games-online.com/links/links13.html<B><FONT COLOR=GREEN> Found</FONT></B><BR>http://www.dvdbasics.co.uk/links2.html
    <B><FONT COLOR=RED> Missing</FONT></B><BR>http://www.millionsaver.com/links/links10_2.htm
    <B><FONT COLOR=RED> Missing</FONT></B><BR>http://www.play-free-slots-games-online.com/links/links13.html
    <B><FONT COLOR=RED> Missing</FONT></B><BR>http://www.herbalicious.com/partners10_2.htm
    <B><FONT COLOR=RED> Missing</FONT></B><BR>http://links.sarasotagroup.com/links9.html<B><FONT COLOR=GREEN> Found</FONT></B><BR></FONT>

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    here is my code script:

    ++++++++++++++++++++++

    <?php

    $mydomain = "www.tekclick.com/search/index.php"; // Set this to your domain

    $list = file_get_contents("sites.txt");
    $urls = explode ("\n", $list);

    ini_set (default_socket_timeout, "12");

    echo "<B>Checking back links to $mydomain....</B><P><FONT SIZE=-1>";

    foreach ($urls as $url) {
    if (strlen ($url)) {
    echo $url . "<B><FONT COLOR=";
    if (strpos (file_get_contents($url), $mydomain) != FALSE) {
    echo "GREEN> Found";
    } else {
    echo "RED> Missing";
    }
    echo "</FONT></B><BR>";
    }
    }
    echo "</FONT>";

    ?>
     
    Western, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  13. ian_ok

    ian_ok Peon

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #53
    What a great thread this is...

    Tested and works....now going to work on implementing it on my links page, so when someone ask's to link to me it checks the site they are putting my link onto and also add's the site to the text file so for future checking.

    If I have any luck I'll post code here.

    Ian
     
    ian_ok, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  14. Western

    Western Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #54
    hi, I'm newbie and trying to implement a new fuction in the Shawn's script!

    Is there a way to implement a function that we could add a link direct into the .txt file without passing true the ftf program to update the txt file. So we could add link direct from my admin panel? Does someone have a clue?

    I try this but still not work it add the new data but doesn't read it:

    <?php
    
    $EmailAd = $_POST["email"];
    $Subs = $_POST["sub_"];
    
    if ($Subs=="Sub"){
    
    $fp = fopen("sites.txt", "a") or die("Error creating/writing to new file."); 
    fwrite($fp, "\r\n" . $EmailAd); 
    fclose($fp);
    
    } 
    
    echo "Thank you for subscribing! <a href=\"pagename.php\">Click here to return."; 
    echo "More text..."; 
    
    ?> 
    PHP:
     
    Western, Jan 10, 2005 IP
  15. Trance-formation

    Trance-formation Peon

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #55
    Is this a consistent result? Does it happen each time you run the script?

    Have you tried increasing the default time out value?
     
    Trance-formation, Jan 12, 2005 IP
  16. Trance-formation

    Trance-formation Peon

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #56
    I would suggest using a mySQL database rather than a text file. I've adapted the script in a similar way (subscribers to my www.training-directory.org.uk site input the location of their link back and the script pulls that from the database to check) and I reckon it's far more user friendly than reading and writing text files :)
     
    Trance-formation, Jan 12, 2005 IP
  17. Western

    Western Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #57
    Ok, so I did you do that? Could you help me to adapt the script so I could use a mySQL database rather than a text file? I'm suggest starting in PHP so any help will be welcome!
     
    Western, Jan 12, 2005 IP
  18. ferret77

    ferret77 Heretic

    Messages:
    5,276
    Likes Received:
    230
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #58
    I got mine working

    feel free to test it out www.travelpromote.us/addsite.php

    checks links
    trade on mulitple sites
    trade multiple sites wiht multiple sites
    have your sites be hosted on another servers and run all the links pages of one central db

    just goes and get the html of the link page and parses thru it

    the problem I had was not looking for varations of urls wiht "/" on the end

    also I need to fix the regex to not only look for "a href" but like a * href

    or something becasue people put the css classs definition between the a href sometimes, that and some people don't enclose the url in quotes

    I don't that other version works becasue the

    echo file_get_contents('http://www.cnn.com');

    doesn't seem to work on all urls
     
    ferret77, Jan 12, 2005 IP
  19. Trance-formation

    Trance-formation Peon

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #59
    OK how familiar are you with mySQL... I'll happily send across any scripts I'vewritten, but its useful to knopw where I need to begin (and hey... I'm making this shit up from the online manuals:))
     
    Trance-formation, Jan 12, 2005 IP
  20. Western

    Western Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    40
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #60
    Thanks Trance-formation, you ask me
    I'm just at the beginning, I understsand how it work and how to install a PHP script but dont ask me to find a mistake are to write a PHP script. By the way, Thanks ferret77I I add try your script and It look great. how does it work? I understand that it read a excel (CSS) fill but for the rest how did you adapt the Shawn's script... could you send me the PHP script that you adapt. It could help me! I have try so many thing on the net! You could go on my directory at http://www.tekclick.com/search/index.php and tell me if it is possible to adapt your script to my directory. Many Thanks!

    Regard
     
    Western, Jan 13, 2005 IP