1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Automated reciprocal link checker

Discussion in 'Link Development' started by jarvi, Mar 16, 2004.

  1. jarvi

    jarvi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    #21
    Shawn, I realised I never thanked you for your help with this. In the end I abandoned the original one (could spider the whole site) and decided to go with your version and just add a field to my DB for the reciprocal link page. Sure it means if the link changes then I can't find it, but it stops the need to suck so much information when in the majority of cases I know where the link should be.

    Thanks,
     
    jarvi, Apr 14, 2004 IP
  2. billbrandes

    billbrandes Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #22
    Hi,

    I liked the idea of the script and was looking for one myself. I tried Shawn's code and I can't seem to get it to work. Here is the response I get from the first two links:

    www.botanical-candle.com/links13.html Warning: file_get_contents(www.botanical-candle.com/links13.html ) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to create stream: No such file or directory in C:\Domains\accerisrates.com\wwwroot\Zlinkchecker\recipcheck.php on line 13
    RED> Missing
    www.superiorholidays.com/superiorhols/resources/modify.html Warning: file_get_contents(www.superiorholidays.com/superiorhols/resources/modify.html ) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to create stream: No such file or directory in C:\Domains\accerisrates.com\wwwroot\Zlinkchecker\recipcheck.php on line 13
    RED> Missing

    The red and green font color does not appear also and I don't know why it is listing my "C" drive. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Bill
     
    billbrandes, Apr 20, 2004 IP
  3. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #23
    digitalpoint, Apr 20, 2004 IP
  4. billbrandes

    billbrandes Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #24
    I had the url fopen turned on and I am still getting the error as below:

    Checking back links to www.accerisrates.com....
    www.botanical-candle.com/links13.html Warning: file_get_contents(www.botanical-candle.com/links13.html ) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to create stream: No such file or directory in C:\Domains\accerisrates.com\wwwroot\zlinkchecker\recipcheck.php on line 13
    RED> Missing
    www.superiorholidays.com/superiorhols/resources/modify.html Warning: file_get_contents(www.superiorholidays.com/superiorhols/resources/modify.html ) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to create stream: No such file or directory in C:\Domains\accerisrates.com\wwwroot\zlinkchecker\recipcheck.php on line 13
    RED> Missing
    www.onlinebusinesssecretsrevealed.com/Business-Services.htm Warning: file_get_contents(www.onlinebusinesssecretsrevealed.com/Business-Services.htm ) [function.file-get-contents]: failed to create stream: No such file or directory in C:\Domains\accerisrates.com\wwwroot\zlinkchecker\recipcheck.php on line 13
    RED> Missing

    Nothing seemed to change.
     
    billbrandes, Apr 20, 2004 IP
  5. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #25
    What version of PHP are you using?

    - Shawn
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 20, 2004 IP
  6. billbrandes

    billbrandes Peon

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #26
    Using PHP Version 4.3.1
     
    billbrandes, Apr 21, 2004 IP
  7. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #27
    Well to be honest, I'm not sure... but for whatever reason the it's not trying to do it as a URL like it should. So it seems that the URLs within fopen is not enabled (or not working).

    - Shawn
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 21, 2004 IP
  8. auberouge

    auberouge Guest

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #28
    I'm having the same problem as Bill. Curious. Will post when we get it figured out, unless you've beat us to it??? ;)

    BTW, cool tool, thanks for posting!!! I've been searching all day for a simple script that doesn't try to take over my links page...
     
    auberouge, May 21, 2004 IP
  9. jbgilbert

    jbgilbert Peon

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #29
    Shawn,
    Following is the link checker script you wrote. It works as long as the people are pointing to your root domain only.

    Would it be hard to adjust so that if the linking page pointed to "any" page on your root domain it would respond positively?


    <?php

    $mydomain = "www.mydomain.com"; // Set this to your domain

    $list = file_get_contents("sites.txt");
    $urls = explode ("\n", $list);

    ini_set (default_socket_timeout, "12");

    echo "<B>Checking back links to $mydomain....</B><P><FONT SIZE=-1>";

    foreach ($urls as $url) {
    if (strlen ($url)) {
    echo $url . "<B><FONT COLOR=";
    if (strpos (file_get_contents($url), $mydomain) != FALSE) {
    echo "GREEN> Found";
    } else {
    echo "RED> Missing";
    }
    echo "</FONT></B><BR>";
    }
    }
    echo "</FONT>";

    ?>
     
    jbgilbert, May 30, 2004 IP
  10. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #30
    It should work at any point in the domain, since it's just looking for the string.
     
    digitalpoint, May 30, 2004 IP
  11. jbgilbert

    jbgilbert Peon

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #31
    You are correct again -- my mistake...
     
    jbgilbert, May 31, 2004 IP
  12. Geir

    Geir Berserker

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #32
    Shawn,
    Thanks for providing this great forum and all of these great tools for free - I really do appreciate it.

    I tried using your script, but get the following error:

    Fatal error: Call to undefined function: file_get_contents() in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/4freephonebillanalysis.com/httpdocs/links/test.php on line 5

    Basically, to me this is a foreign langauge (= I know nothing about scripting :confused: ), so any suggestions would be appreciated.

    :) Geir
     
    Geir, Jun 13, 2004 IP
  13. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #33
    You need PHP version 4.3 or higher for the file_get_contents function.
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 13, 2004 IP
  14. Geir

    Geir Berserker

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #34
    Thank you for the quick reply!

    Not sure what version my host is using, but is it possible to do this same thing on an older php version?

    :) Geir
     
    Geir, Jun 13, 2004 IP
  15. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #35
    Yeah, you could probably get around it by reading it in with the fopen() command, but would require a little additional code.
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 13, 2004 IP
  16. Geir

    Geir Berserker

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #36
    Thank you,
    I will check with my host and ask if they will be updating the php version.

    :) Geir
     
    Geir, Jun 13, 2004 IP
  17. DragonDesigns

    DragonDesigns Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #37
    I wonder, how hard it would be to mod the script to search every page on a domain for the link? I think that would be a really cool feature!

    Dave.
     
    DragonDesigns, Jun 23, 2004 IP
  18. North Carolina SEO

    North Carolina SEO Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #38
    Shawn,

    It just proves that 'no good deed goes unpunished'...

    Thanks for all you do! :cool:
     
    North Carolina SEO, Jun 23, 2004 IP
  19. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #39
    Easy, but not going to happen... I don't want to make a script that really is a spider. :)
     
    digitalpoint, Jun 23, 2004 IP
  20. jarvi

    jarvi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    #40
    If you are looking for a spider that is reasonably easy to use the have a look at http://phpcrawl.cuab.de/ With little knowledge I was also able to adapt it to stop crawling once it had found the link. In the end though I stopped testing it because it is much better from a bandwidth point of view to start from the last known place and if it can't find it there, then start looking at the rest of the site. This was a bit above my knowledge level. At least with this one you can limit the amount it crawls per site but that kind of defeats the purpose if you are looking for a reciprocal link checker.
     
    jarvi, Jun 23, 2004 IP