1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

ASP Version Final Release

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by Zinho, Dec 4, 2004.

  1. #1
    I've finally finished to re-code and beta test the ASP Port for the ad network.
    It is 100% compliant with the way the network i handled in php.
    I hope you'll appreciate my work.


    INSTRUCTIONS:

    
    <!-- #include virtual="/ad_network.asp"-->
    ads=ad_network
    response.write ads(0) & "<br>"
    response.write ads(1) & "<br>"
    
    Code (markup):
    This will show 2 ads. You can show up to 5 ads: ads(4).


    Credits goes to l0cke

    For any bug reports: zinho@hackerscenter.com
     

    Attached Files:

    Zinho, Dec 4, 2004 IP
  2. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #2
    Zinho,
    To make this work do you use the other files as usual and then replace the ad_network.php with this: ad_network.asp?
     
    ResaleBroker, Dec 5, 2004 IP
  3. Zinho

    Zinho Peon

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    If you have to show ads on asp pages only you don't need to use php files.
    Just open the asp file with a text editor and change the
    Const root_path to whatever you wish. This is the path to a writable directory on your site.(where ad_network_ads.txt is placed).

    Then you just upload the "ad_network.asp" on your server and on all the pages you want to show the ads on put this:

    <!-- #include virtual="/ad_network.asp"-->
    ads=ad_network
    response.write ads(0) & "<br>"
    response.write ads(1) & "<br>"

    You may need to change the include path if the file is not in the root.
    I hope I was clear enough.
    feel free to ask for more support if needed
     

    Attached Files:

    Zinho, Dec 5, 2004 IP
  4. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #4
    Awesome! Thank You!
     
    ResaleBroker, Dec 5, 2004 IP
  5. Zinho

    Zinho Peon

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    No problem friend. I've attached a (once again) enahnced version of the file.
    As I use it I'm trying to make him prefect and to run faster...
     
    Zinho, Dec 5, 2004 IP
  6. Vyolett

    Vyolett Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Hey that works! Thats awesome!! Thanks

    :eek: :D :eek:
     
    Vyolett, Dec 5, 2004 IP
  7. asamuel

    asamuel Peon

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I have the original code that locke posted a while back, are you saying I should just save over this file with your updated copy??
     
    asamuel, Dec 6, 2004 IP
  8. Zinho

    Zinho Peon

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Yes. with all the respects to l0cke, his version didn't work fine because there were some problems with inet connection to ad server and ad_network_ads.txt management.Moreover it forced you to make 5 requests to the server whn only one was needed to show 5 ads.
    I mailed him making him see my version and he agreed with me.

    You should use the ad_network.asp i've attached and follow the instructions I gave in my previous posts.
     
    Zinho, Dec 6, 2004 IP
  9. dct

    dct Finder of cool gadgets

    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    328
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #9
    Hi Zinho, do you know if this would work with an ASPX site?
     
    dct, Dec 6, 2004 IP
  10. melfan

    melfan Peon

    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Thanks for this file. now Im running ad network on my ASP sites.
     
    melfan, Dec 6, 2004 IP
  11. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Ok, anyone know where I can get the Winhttp5.dll to install on my NT 4 server?

    This is what I get when I run the code after installing msxml4.0 which includes the winhttp5.dll:

    Server object error 'ASP 0177 : 800401f3'

    Server.CreateObject Failed

    /coopads.asp, line 12

    Invalid class string
     
    mopacfan, Dec 6, 2004 IP
  12. Zinho

    Zinho Peon

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    HERE
    Hope this helps. Do not forget to install at least IE 5.01
     
    Zinho, Dec 6, 2004 IP
  13. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    I did that and loaded msxml 4.0 I ended up going back to the msxml to actually get the file on the old nt box. The sites on win2k work great. Thanks for the great code.
     
    mopacfan, Dec 6, 2004 IP
  14. Design1

    Design1 Active Member

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #14
    Hmmm.. I got it installed and everything there was only one problem. It appears the max ads it shows for me is 4 instead of 5. I know that ASP numbers go from 0-4 which is 5 total so .. I dunno, it doesnt work for me. hehe.. any suggestions?

    Oh i also wanted to mention.. i have a bullet between each link and the one that is supposed to go after the first one shows. Just the link doesnt appear. Its like that each time i refresh .. so .. anyone know? my asp knowledge is pretty limited because im an designer not a coder hehe :p

    Thanks :D
     
    Design1, Dec 7, 2004 IP
  15. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    What's the url?
     
    mopacfan, Dec 7, 2004 IP
  16. Design1

    Design1 Active Member

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #16
    I cant post my URL just yet but its Templates Resource dot com :)
     
    Design1, Dec 7, 2004 IP
  17. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    I see four links appearing with bullets before and after each link. Is it supposed to be something other than this?
     
    mopacfan, Dec 7, 2004 IP
  18. Design1

    Design1 Active Member

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #18
    Yeah, it should be:

    link · link · link · link · link ·

    i did forget to take the bullet off the last one in the code, but that doesnt change anything.. it shows up like this:

    · link · link · link · link ·

    the code is the same for all five lines starting with 0-4.. it just seems like '0' doesnt show the link, just the bullet for it.
     
    Design1, Dec 7, 2004 IP
  19. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    ok, next step, post your asp code so we can try to figure out why this is happening. Do you have any css coding that could be causing this?
     
    mopacfan, Dec 7, 2004 IP
  20. Design1

    Design1 Active Member

    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #20
    Wow fast response! :D

    Here is what I have so far for the code that shows it on the page.. I just dont understand why it would properly display all the links except the first one.

    <!-- #include file="../ad_network.asp"-->
    <% ads=ad_network
    response.write ads(0) & "&nbsp;&middot;&nbsp;"
    response.write ads(1) & "&nbsp;&middot;&nbsp;"
    response.write ads(2) & "&nbsp;&middot;&nbsp;"
    response.write ads(3) & "&nbsp;&middot;&nbsp;"
    response.write ads(4) & "&nbsp;&middot;&nbsp;"

    %>

    Also, i dont really think my css should be causing any problems. I will take a further look into it, but its pretty basic, nothing too exciting that should be an issue.

    Thanks for your help, i really do appreciate it!
     
    Design1, Dec 7, 2004 IP