1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

ASP.NET Newbie Question - CompilerVersion

Discussion in 'C#' started by jms.heath, Feb 9, 2008.

Hi!

I'm new to Digital Point, and I am new to ASP.NET.
    I like the look of some of the discussable topics around here and will do my best to help others as much as they can help me.

I have a question for some of you ASP.NET pro's. It's a fairly basic question, but after a fair bit of research I have had little luck in tracking down the problem myself. My situation is this:

I have downloaded and installed Microsoft Visual Web Developer (most recent release as of post date). I have configured a new ASP.NET FTP based site with my hosting provider (Fasthosts). Fasthosts offer little information on exactly which version of ASP.NET they have installed on their servers, but based on the error reports I am getting, it is apparently Microsoft .NET Framework Version:2.0.50727.832.
    SEMrush
    After publishing my site which has nothing in it (just the standard new default.aspx page), I recieve the following error:

Configuration Error

Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: Child nodes not allowed.

Source Error:

Line 117:        <compiler language="c#;cs;csharp" extension=".cs" warningLevel="4"
    Line 118:                  type="Microsoft.CSharp.CSharpCodeProvider, System, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089">
    Line 119:          <providerOption name="CompilerVersion" value="v3.5"/>