1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

ASP Code Problem

Discussion in 'C#' started by Litespeed, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. #1
    I am trying to write a simple ASP page that will submit user information to a MSSQL database, however I keep getting an error message when I hit the register button

    "Error Type:
    ADODB.Recordset (0x800A0BB9)
    Arguments are of the wrong type, are out of acceptable range, or are in conflict with one another.
    /mine/testsignup.asp, line 54"

    Below is the code:
    <head>
    <title>Sign-Up</title>
    </head>

    <body bgcolor="white">
    <table width=575 align=center><tr><td>
    <!-- #include file="../mine/includes/connectstring.asp" -->
    <!-- #include file="../adovbs.inc" -->
    <%
    If IsEmpty(Request.Form("submit")) Then %>

    <form name="signup" action="testsignup.asp" method="post">
    <table width="50%" align="center" cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 border=0>
    <tr>
    <td colspan=2 align="center"><h2><div class="color">Sign-Up</div></h2></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td><div class="color">First Name:</div></td>
    <td><input type="text" name="fname" size=15></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td><div class="color">Last Name:</div></td>
    <td><input type="text" name="lname" size=15></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td><div class="color">Email:</div></td>
    <td><input type="text" name="email" size=15"></td>
    </tr>
    <tr>

    <td colspan=2>&nbsp;</td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td colspan=2 align="center">
    <input type="submit" name="submit" value="register">
    <input type="reset" name="reset" value="clear">
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    </form>

    <%
    Else
    FName = Request.Form("fname")
    LName = Request.Form("lname")
    Email = Request.Form("email")


    Set rs = server.createobject("adodb.recordset")

    rs.open "user",cn
    rs.addnew
    rs("email") = Email
    rs("fname") = FName
    rs("lname") = LName
    rs.update

    rs.close
    Set rs = nothing
    Response.Write "<font color='white'>Thank You, You have been added to our database!</font>"
    End If
    conn.Close
    Set conn = Nothing
    SEMrush
    %>
    </td></tr></table>
    </body>
    </html>

    line 54 is rs.open "user",cn

    Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated
     
    Litespeed, Mar 20, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    The error messages in ASP refer to the action line where there is an issue. Since line 54 is the controlling line, it will be the error line even if the error is later in the insert.

    What is the table structure?
    What are the field names and types?
    What is the field length?
    Is there a key field?
    Do you have it set to autogenerate?
    When you try to submit this form, are you filling it out completely or are you just hitting submit?

    You may need to do some data manipulation before you try to enter it in the database.
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  3. Litespeed

    Litespeed Guest

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    druidelder-thanks for taking the time to respond. The table has three columns
    Fname, LName, Email. They are all text fields that are 16 characters in length.There is no key field. It is a MSSQL database.
     
    Litespeed, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  4. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    If they are text fields, they are well over 16 chars in length (unless you mean you set a 16 character limit on the html textbox). The text datatype is for fairly large text and can exceed the row size limitation. MSSQL shows this strangely. When looking at ints or chars the size is in bytes. This is not true for the text datatype.

    Since you are using MSSQL, I would suggest using varchar(50). Varchars are great in that they only allot the memory needed for what is actually in them. A char(50) always allots memory for 50 characters regardless of what is in there.

    Change the datatype and see if that helps. Some languages don't handle the text datatype well.
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  5. Litespeed

    Litespeed Guest

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Thanks for the suggestion. I changed the datatype in the table from text to varchar, but I am still getting the same error message.

    Thanks again for taking the time to try to help me troubleshoot the problem.
     
    Litespeed, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  6. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Change the code so that instead of inserting, you write out the variables.

    response.write(email)
    response.write(fname)
    response.write(lname)

    Then let me know what you input and what was written out on the resulting page. That will help us determine if it is a data issue.
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  7. Litespeed

    Litespeed Guest

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    druidelder,
    I wrote them out and ended up with the information submitted written back to me on the page correctly.
     
    Litespeed, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  8. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    But what was the input/output? Without knowing what was entered, it is impossible to tell if it is a data issue.
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  9. Litespeed

    Litespeed Guest

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    the data input was my first name, last name and email and the data output was my first name, last name and email.
     
    Litespeed, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  10. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    That doesn't really help. To see if it could be a data issue, I would need to see the actual data, not what it represents. Try inputting just a single letter in each a,b,c.

    Are there any other fields in the table that are not being used here?
    When you changed the datatype, what length value did you give?
    Are you sure that your connection strings are pointing in the right place?
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  11. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Are you supplying a lock type in your connection string? If you are, make sure it is not a readOnly locktype. If you do not specify one, the default is readOnly and could throw that error.

    adLockOptimistic
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  12. Litespeed

    Litespeed Guest

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    druidelder,
    I input single letters and in the Response.Write code and the output was single letters.

    there are only three fields in the table:
    FName
    LName
    Email

    the varchar length is 50

    and I have put an adovbs.inc file in my include folder so locktypes shouldn't be a problem.

    I have been working on this for 3 days and I am stumped.

    Thanks for you help!
     
    Litespeed, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  13. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    The adovbs.inc only defines the lockTypes. You still have to select one for the connection or it goes to its default value which is a readOnly type.

    Try:

    rs.open "user",cn, 1, 2
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  14. Litespeed

    Litespeed Guest

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I added ,1,2 to the code, but still got the same error. I am pretty sure that the problem is in the recordset code, but I am struggling to figure out what it might be. It's pointing to "user" which is the name of the table, has the correctly named fields, but ultimately refuses to add the new record.
     
    Litespeed, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  15. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I'm pretty sure the recordset code is right. If it were somehow pointing to the wrong table or database it would have an error stating the db object could not be found.

    Have you checked the table permissions to make sure you can write to it? That should give a permission error if that were the issue, but you never know.

    Have you thought about using <%Option Explicit%> and properly declaring your variables? I know ASP allows you not to, but it will cause you headaches in the future.

    What about switching to using stored procedures (or does your host not give you that access?
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  16. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    When you did this, did you put letters in the response.write code or request.form("email"), etc....
    email = request.form("email")
    response.write(email)

    not response.write("a")

    When you did this, did you also try to do the addnew code with just single letters being input?
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  17. Litespeed

    Litespeed Guest

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    druidelder,
    I do have access to stored procedures within MSSQL, but have limited knowledge of writing them.

    I added <%Option Explicit%> to declare my variable, but till got the same error. I also double checked the permissions on the table and they were checked for write.
     
    Litespeed, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  18. Litespeed

    Litespeed Guest

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    okay, I think the code is failing before it gets to the table. I changed the name of the table to "users" and got the same exact error message.
     
    Litespeed, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  19. druidelder

    druidelder Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Can you show me what your connection stuff looks like (mine/includes/connectstring.asp)? Change anything in there with specific data to your site (password, ip, etc...) to x's so that nobody can use it to get to your site.
     
    druidelder, Mar 21, 2007 IP
  20. Litespeed

    Litespeed Guest

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    here ya go...
    <%
    dim conn, SQLStringQWERTY
    Set conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
    conn.Open("Provider=SQLOLEDB; Data Source=xxxxxx; Initial Catalog=testdb; " & "User Id=xxxx; Password=xxxxxx;")

    %>
     
    Litespeed, Mar 21, 2007 IP