1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Are iframes indexed by search engines?

Discussion in 'Search Engine Optimization' started by RZ-1, Oct 8, 2006.

  1. #1
    Hi -

    I'd like to build a design based on iframes, and I was wondering if iframes were still being avoided by search engines.

    I want to use iframes so that I can manage my content on blogger, and then include that into my website.

    Does anybody see any downfalls to this approach?
    SEMrush
     
    RZ-1, Oct 8, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Vigor

    Vigor Peon

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Iframes are a grey area, I would suggest avoiding them if possible.
     
    Vigor, Oct 8, 2006 IP
  3. PayItForward

    PayItForward Peon

    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    43
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Don't use iframes, ever. The only acceptable use for iframes is when you have a 1px iframe used for holding data. You could easily learn a little bit of PHP that would help you with content management.
     
    PayItForward, Oct 8, 2006 IP
    mad4 likes this.
  4. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Agreed. Never use frames.
     
    mad4, Oct 8, 2006 IP
  5. BILZ

    BILZ Peon

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    62
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    frames=bad
     
    BILZ, Oct 8, 2006 IP
  6. RZ-1

    RZ-1 Peon

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Thanks for the feedback.

    Everything I've read says frames is bad. It would just help speed up the development quite a bit.

    Is using Ajax to load content into a layer a better approach then using an iframe?
     
    RZ-1, Oct 8, 2006 IP
  7. yutewa00

    yutewa00 Peon

    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    or just use simple php includes ... you can have links very SEO friendly and don't have to worry because SE will crawl entire site
     
    yutewa00, Oct 8, 2006 IP
  8. carlinhos

    carlinhos Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #8
    Well, if your objective is to have your site crawled and accessed by a search engine, Ajax may not be a good idea.

    Bots cannot interpret Javascript, so the results could be fully visible to human visitors with Javascript enabled browsers but invisible to spiders.
     
    carlinhos, Oct 8, 2006 IP
  9. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    No. Search engines can't read anything generated with javascript or AJAX.
     
    mad4, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  10. carlinhos

    carlinhos Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #10
    As a suggestion, you can publish two versions of the same content, one made with Ajax and other alternative without Ajax using a HTML <noscript> tag.
     
    carlinhos, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  11. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Sticking loads of content in noscript tags is asking for trouble IMO.
     
    mad4, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  12. 3l3ctr1c

    3l3ctr1c Peon

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    14
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Well I have a custom made PHP script which uses dynamic content and I know very well it can only wokr with either frame or iframe, now my question is out of the two which one is better ?
     
    3l3ctr1c, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  13. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    If you want to feature in the search engines never use frames. Otherwise you can do what you like as nobody will ever see it.
     
    mad4, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  14. skyblue webteam

    skyblue webteam Peon

    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I have a lot of problems with including one page in another without using dynamic languages. If you don't want to use php, you should try server side includes.
     
    skyblue webteam, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  15. carlinhos

    carlinhos Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #15
    My experience shows that works in a similar way. I had a site that used frames and another that user iframes and both contents were crawled (not very well) by Google. But it's preferable not use neither. I had problems because the content of frames were important and weren't archived the way I'd like.

    There some are exceptions. For example, MSDN library uses frames and is perfectly indexed. But I think this is not regular.
     
    carlinhos, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  16. RZ-1

    RZ-1 Peon

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    I like this idea. I think I will start with an iframe version to get things running quickly. I have a large navigation interface thats very important to the site, and I don't want to reload it each time.

    In the future, I could always add a PHP include version that mirrors the content so search engines would be happier.
     
    RZ-1, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  17. mad4

    mad4 Peon

    Messages:
    6,989
    Likes Received:
    493
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Iframes and duplicate content. Search engines will love that.:rolleyes:

    Seriously you came here asking for advice and got some really good tips. Everybody said don't use frames. Why do you insist on using them?:confused:
     
    mad4, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  18. PayItForward

    PayItForward Peon

    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    43
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    You should be more willing to put some time and effort into learning the stuff that the veterans here are telling you that you need to learn.

    I remember when I was younger I would always do everything the quickest way even if it was the wrong way. But as a successful adult, I do things the right way the first time .
     
    PayItForward, Oct 9, 2006 IP
  19. RZ-1

    RZ-1 Peon

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Yes, this is true. I'm just starting to accept this.

    Thanks for all the great advice. I'm going to step back, and rethink my approach - and find away to reach the same goals without any type of frames.
     
    RZ-1, Oct 11, 2006 IP
    mad4 likes this.
  20. carlinhos

    carlinhos Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    #20
    Well done!!! I forgot to say that if someone must use frames (sometimes can be useful), don't forget to add a <noframes> tag that includes links to the inner pages.
     
    carlinhos, Oct 11, 2006 IP