1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Apache/ IIS on same machine

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by Agent47, Apr 21, 2005.

  1. #1
    Not sure if this is the correct forum to post but here is my question:
    SEMrush
    I use to work both in PHP and ASP and am not able to run ASP pages on Apache webserver. Can I install and run Apache + IIS on the same server/machine? If so what configuration and setting do I need?

    Thanks in advance

    - Zeb
     
    Agent47, Apr 21, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. J.D.

    J.D. Peon

    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    64
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Assuming that you want all servers to work on the standard port 80, you need a multihomed machine (i.e. multiple IP addresses) and if you are using IIS6, you need to configure it to listen only on some of these addresses.

    J.D.
     
    J.D., Apr 21, 2005 IP
  3. mopacfan

    mopacfan Peon

    Messages:
    3,273
    Likes Received:
    164
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    The easiest (not exactly the least expensive) option is to install Chilisoft's ASP on the apache box. Then you can have both. Or you can go to a windows machine with IIS and install php (free).
     
    mopacfan, Apr 21, 2005 IP
    Agent47 likes this.
  4. dct

    dct Finder of cool gadgets

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    328
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #4
    I have IIS listening on port 80 (default install) and Apache listening on 8080 (single config file change)
     
    dct, Apr 21, 2005 IP
  5. J.D.

    J.D. Peon

    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    64
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    If you want to use 8080 in production, you need to set up a virtual website on the server that listens on the port 80 and redirect requests from the standard port to the port 8080 for this website.
     
    J.D., Apr 21, 2005 IP
    Agent47 likes this.
  6. iqra_psh

    iqra_psh Active Member

    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    113
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    85
    #6
    how to make IIS on 80 and Apache on 8080 what need to be change?
     
    iqra_psh, Apr 21, 2005 IP
  7. dct

    dct Finder of cool gadgets

    Messages:
    3,134
    Likes Received:
    328
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #7
    Change Listen in httpd.conf found in the conf directory
    
    # Listen: Allows you to bind Apache to specific IP addresses and/or
    # ports, instead of the default. See also the <VirtualHost>
    # directive.
    #
    # Change this to Listen on specific IP addresses as shown below to 
    # prevent Apache from glomming onto all bound IP addresses (0.0.0.0)
    #
    #Listen 12.34.56.78:80
    Listen 8080
    
    Code (markup):
     
    dct, Apr 21, 2005 IP
    Agent47 likes this.
  8. Agent47

    Agent47 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    138
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #8
    Thanks for all the replies. Appreciated :)

    EDIT: I think this line should also be changed to Port 8080:

    # Port: The port to which the standalone server listens.
    #
    Port 80
    Code (markup):
    to
     
    # Port: The port to which the standalone server listens.
    #
    Port 8080
    
    Code (markup):
     
    Agent47, Apr 21, 2005 IP
  9. iqra_psh

    iqra_psh Active Member

    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    113
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    85
    #9
    thanks dcteam for a very good explainations
    thank u very much
     
    iqra_psh, Apr 21, 2005 IP
  10. tru504187211

    tru504187211 Peon

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    This is a good example, but what if a company blocks requests for users on 8080? Would the user be able to view the site that is actually on 8080?
     
    tru504187211, Jul 20, 2006 IP
  11. iVista

    iVista Peon

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    How to do the other way round?

    IIS on 8080
    Apache on 80 default

    Thanks
     
    iVista, Apr 25, 2010 IP
  12. hostwebdata

    hostwebdata Peon

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    in the IIS setting u can change the port their
     
    hostwebdata, Apr 25, 2010 IP