1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Any handcoders here?

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by Colleen, May 18, 2005.

  1. #1
    Am I the only one who likes to code my sites by hand and not use an editor?

    I find DW, FP and everything else slows me down. I think SEbasic does it by hand, anyone else?

    And if you do code by hand, why and why not use an editor?
    SEMrush
     
    Colleen, May 18, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #2
    I use a text editor for php and HTML.
     
    noppid, May 18, 2005 IP
    Colleen likes this.
  3. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,276
    Likes Received:
    2,597
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #3
    Text editor here (specifically BBEdit).
     
    digitalpoint, May 18, 2005 IP
    Colleen likes this.
  4. Colleen

    Colleen Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #4
    What is it called, noppid? Wouldn't mind checking it out.

    I am going to look that one up, Shawn.


    ;)
     
    Colleen, May 18, 2005 IP
  5. chachi

    chachi The other Jason

    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    57
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I just do them on the web server (linux boxes) by hand. But, most of them look like it :) I will use TextPad as a text editor if I want to do something locally.

    I started using FrontPage 97...what a POS that was. My programmer at the time (still is) yelled at me one day and I did not understand what the issue was until I looked at the code one day. It was all hand done after that.
     
    chachi, May 18, 2005 IP
  6. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #6
    I use ultraedit.
     
    noppid, May 18, 2005 IP
  7. Colleen

    Colleen Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    6,778
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #7
    I've had the same FrontPage disaster, tried it out once, didn't like it.

    Thanks noppid, think I've tried it out awhile back. :)

    noppid, did you code those pages in your sigs? Nice and clean, just how I like em. :D
     
    Colleen, May 18, 2005 IP
  8. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #8
    EditPlus is my backup. I'm cued up to switch. But I've been using UE like 4 years, old habits die hard. But I did get the UI's to look about identical. One more syntax highlight error and UE is gone.
     
    noppid, May 18, 2005 IP
  9. Crazy_Rob

    Crazy_Rob I seen't it!

    Messages:
    13,155
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    EditPlus is the best! I've been using it for three years and it's never crashed on me.

    EditPlus-4-EVA (TBH)!
     
    Crazy_Rob, May 18, 2005 IP
  10. noppid

    noppid gunnin' for the quota

    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    232
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #10
    Comments like that are going to push me over the edge.

    I think a memorial service may be in order. :eek:
     
    noppid, May 18, 2005 IP
  11. mushroom

    mushroom Peon

    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    15
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I like to do all my coding on Linux using Quanta+ or KWrite right on a test server so I can see results with an acutal web browser.

    Have 2 machines set up side by side that I use.
     
    mushroom, May 18, 2005 IP
  12. LGRComp

    LGRComp Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    27
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    195
    #12
    I hand code everything. These days I use HTML-Kit for all of my HTML, PHP and PERL programming. I love the plug ins that you can get for it to speed things up a little.
     
    LGRComp, May 18, 2005 IP
  13. CompressedAir

    CompressedAir Peon

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    I use Eclipse IDE. Works moderately ok with PHP and it's free.
     
    CompressedAir, May 18, 2005 IP
  14. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #14
    Zend Studio and/or Notepad. ;)
     
    ResaleBroker, May 18, 2005 IP
  15. dejaone

    dejaone Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    30
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    143
    #15
    TextPad here.
     
    dejaone, May 18, 2005 IP
  16. flawebworks

    flawebworks Tech Services

    Messages:
    991
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #16
    Ultraedit; though I will pull out dreamweaver to assist in tables if need be.
     
    flawebworks, May 18, 2005 IP
  17. sarahk

    sarahk iTamer Staff

    Messages:
    25,020
    Likes Received:
    3,404
    Best Answers:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    615
    #17
    I use
    • Zend for PHP
    • Adobe GoLive 4 for layout
    • Bradsoft's TopStyle for CSS
    • EditPadLite for quick and dirty edits of html, php, css
     
    sarahk, May 18, 2005 IP
  18. niknakgroup

    niknakgroup Peon

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Nope, notepad is about as high tech and fancy as I will get, but at least I know all that c*ap in the code is mine!! lol! No, I used FP for about 4 days, then had to edit one of the pages and oculd not believe how inflated the file was with useless MS rubbish which means nothing to anyone. I have brushed a few times with other editors since, but they all ned up doing not quite the right thing, so now I just stick to plain old boring NotePad - and take the blame/credit for the end result..?
     
    niknakgroup, May 18, 2005 IP
  19. fooey

    fooey Peon

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    I'm a hardcore Homesite+ fan since back when it was called Coldfusion Studio

    never found another app that let you feel like you're actually editing a remote file like it does

    instead of the standard: download file in one app, edit file in another, upload file in first app
    it works like: open file, edit file, save file

    only problem is you can't get it as a standalone app anymore, you have to buy the Macromedia Studio compilation and it's hidden away on the CD =\
     
    fooey, May 18, 2005 IP
  20. dirvish

    dirvish Peon

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    I usually use vi or UltraEdit. I still resort to Dreamweaver occasionally though.
     
    dirvish, May 18, 2005 IP