1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Anchor Text Question

Discussion in 'Link Development' started by Chiara, Oct 21, 2004.

I'm still learning about using anchor text so forgive me if this sounds really dumb. I was just wondering how many links with targeted anchor text one would need to go from, say, a position of #200 in google to the Top 10 for a keyword that brings in about 700,000 results in Google. Would one need hundreds of links using that keyword? More?
    SEMrush
    How about going from position #40 to top 10 for a keyword with 40,000 results?

Does it make a difference if they are links from other pages of your own site or external links? Am I right that I would need more if they were coming from my own site and not another site?

It seems most of my keywords are hovering in positions 40-200. I'm just trying to get an idea of how much work I have to do. :)

Chiara, Oct 21, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. daamsie

daamsie Peon

Best Answers:
    Hi Chiara,

It also depends on the pagerank of the site linking to you. If a PR10 site linked to you only once with that keyphrase, you would probably be on no.1 :)

If a PR1 linked to you with that keyphrase, it would likely have little effect. It does depend on how SEO minded the other competitors are though. Some phrases with 700,000 results have more competitive people at the top than phrases with millions of results.

A keyword with 40,000 results? You should really be on the front page with very little effort.

I'm not sure about the external / internal debate. I tend to think that external links do have some extra value, but that's only guesswork. Others say all pages are treated equally.

daamsie, Oct 21, 2004 IP
  3. Chiara

Chiara Peon