1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Amazon Question - HELP

Discussion in 'Amazon' started by Cyclops, Aug 3, 2005.

  1. #1
    I have recently purchase a website selling Amazon products. I was under teh impressiont hat all i woudl need to do is change the previous owners Affiliate ID link to my own. However when I do this it comes up with an internal server error.
    SEMrush
    The site is: http://www.betterlandscaping.com/

    The section that I am changing wth my code is below: (this is teh original code without my Affilate ID)

    $xmlFeed = 'http://xml.amazon.com/onca/xml3?t=' .$AssociatesID;
    $xmlFeed .= '&dev-t=' .$DevToken;
    $xmlFeed .= '&' .$SearchType;
    $xmlFeed .= '=' .$SearchString;
    $xmlFeed .= '&mode=' .$Mode;
    $xmlFeed .= '&sort=' .$Sort;
    $xmlFeed .= '&offer=All&type=' .$Type;
    $xmlFeed .= '&page=' .$Page. '&f=xml';

    My ID is http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/redirect-home/httpwwwfreehc-20.
    Can any programmers out there help me please? This is so frustrating. It seems such a simple task.
     
    Cyclops, Aug 3, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #2
    From what I can see, the current id is whitespace-20, you need to change that one with yours. YOurs should look something like that one (whitespace-20)
     
    fryman, Aug 3, 2005 IP
  3. Nintendo

    Nintendo ♬ King of da Wackos ♬

    Messages:
    12,890
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    430
    #3
    Search for whitespace-20 and change it to httpwwwfreehc-20 .
     
    Nintendo, Aug 3, 2005 IP
  4. Kalev

    Kalev Peon

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    It should not be very hard. Probably there is a line in the code:
    $AssociatesID="whitespace-20";
    change whitespace-20 to your aff id and ;)
     
    Kalev, Aug 3, 2005 IP
  5. Cyclops

    Cyclops sensei

    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    72
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Thanks guys! can I ask how you all came up with that so I can look for it in the future?
     
    Cyclops, Aug 3, 2005 IP
  6. Cyclops

    Cyclops sensei

    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    72
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Thank you for your help. That did the trick!!!!!

    Can you all let me know how you figured that one out so I know what to look for next time?
     
    Cyclops, Aug 3, 2005 IP
  7. Kalev

    Kalev Peon

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Learn some basic PHP and next time you can help us instead.
     
    Kalev, Aug 3, 2005 IP
  8. tomek

    tomek Peon

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    have a look at this tutorial:
    http://www.websitepublisher.net/article/aws-php/
    (it's not up-to-date but will teach you the basics...)
     
    tomek, Nov 1, 2005 IP