1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Alter Ads Display

Discussion in 'Guidelines / Compliance' started by anjanesh, Aug 7, 2005.

  1. #1
    Hi

    I have a adsense account so it has a client and channel arguments.
    Is there a way to get the ads in XML format so that I can display them using my CSS and not google's ?
    And is possible to send some number 'n' so that it'll send back n ads instead of 4 ?

    Thanks
    SEMrush
     
    anjanesh, Aug 7, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. warlock_cro

    warlock_cro Peon

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    I am not sure that you can get the ads in XML format ..
     
    warlock_cro, Aug 7, 2005 IP
  3. mjewel

    mjewel Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,693
    Likes Received:
    514
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #3

    It is against google's TOS to change the ad format.
     
    mjewel, Aug 7, 2005 IP
  4. tflight

    tflight Peon

    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    38
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    No, probably because then people could do all sorts of "tricks" with the formatting that would be against TOS.

    Not without changing the ad format type.
     
    tflight, Aug 7, 2005 IP
  5. anjanesh

    anjanesh Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #5
    Well....according to Google , they do allow - but only for 'large' customers.

    I found it by searching google and ended up in chaoszone .
    Im not posting the xml link here incase its against the rules to post it here. But in the above link, you can get the xml link - google ads !

    But Im looking for google ads xml based on keywords and not based on domain name.
     
    anjanesh, Aug 7, 2005 IP
  6. mjewel

    mjewel Prominent Member

    Messages:
    6,693
    Likes Received:
    514
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    310
    #6
    Your site has to have a minimum of 750,000 page views per month in order to qualify. You then have to be accepted and then need to have the format approved. You will be given a contact who can give you further details. Trying to do it without being approved will get you banned. Not sure if you are asking this, but you can't give them a list of keywords that you want ads for.
     
    mjewel, Aug 7, 2005 IP
  7. anjanesh

    anjanesh Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #7
    I figured if they can allow domain name then why not keywords.
    Something like page.xml?q=keywords.
     
    anjanesh, Aug 7, 2005 IP
  8. fryman

    fryman Kiss my rep

    Messages:
    9,605
    Likes Received:
    777
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    370
    #8
    The big guys have a rep and can narrow their ads to get them really targeted...

    But unless you have the required amount of pageviews you should better focus on improving your site instead of worrying about this. ;)
     
    fryman, Aug 7, 2005 IP
  9. anjanesh

    anjanesh Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #9
    Ho do I know the number of pageviews per month for my client's site ?
     
    anjanesh, Aug 13, 2005 IP
  10. alang

    alang Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    220
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    235
    #10
    Are your sure about this number? From what I read at adsense page, its say 20 million page view per month

    Its still hope you right though, so that I can get premium account because my page view is almost 2 million a month
     
    alang, Aug 13, 2005 IP
  11. sercan

    sercan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    123
    #11
    i haven't got enough information but i think it isn't allowed...
     
    sercan, Aug 13, 2005 IP
  12. anjanesh

    anjanesh Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    #12
    If it isnt allowed then why is the the parameter output=xml still working ?
    Why would I not use that if google not sending some sort of a 'forbidden' request when querying for an xml format ?
     
    anjanesh, Aug 13, 2005 IP