1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

affiliates without owning a websites

Discussion in 'Affiliate Programs' started by Tomas, Apr 22, 2004.

I'm pretty new at this online marketing game but this is what i've understood so far:
    with google adwords, anybody can be a marketer... and you don't need a website for it, just a google account and become an affiliate of another company. So far so good. But what is the best affiliate program to sign up with? CJ is apparently one of the best, but when you sign up, you need to have your own website. They don't seem to cater for for people who only want to use adwords. Are there any other good programs out there that offer a wide variety of advertisers?

Tomas, Apr 22, 2004 IP
  2. compar

compar Peon

Best Answers:
    My experience using Adwords to drive traffic to affiliate sites is not good. The problem is that the affiliate profit on an item is not enough to pay for the advertising.

In my experience I ended up paying Google $500 for adwords that results in $450 profit for me. Not a very good business model.

I think it is pretty easy to understand why this is the case. The same person who is paying you 10% or 15% of the value of each sale is obviously making a lot more than that on each sale. So they can afford to pay higher prices for AdWord ads than any affiliate can and as a result more or less price the affiliate out of the market.

compar, Apr 22, 2004 IP
  3. Tomas

Tomas Peon

Best Answers:
    So you're saying that using adwords, you are actually competing with the websites that make the sale? but surely a lot of advertisers do not bother marketing their own site and rely on others to do the marketing for them?