1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Advice needed. Is it a good/bad idea?

Discussion in 'General Business' started by aplus, Jan 16, 2017.

Hi,

I am sure this is a silly question to lots of you, but I would really like you thoughts on this.

I am a web developer with a lot of experience in the web technologies. I want to explore my options for the future so I am thinking to maybe create a content site (niche not decided yet) and earn from ads and affiliates. I want to hire a writter, and maybe publish couple of articles per week.

I know this was easier to do maybe 10 years ago but I never tried it back then. Could this still be profitable or is it a bad idea?

aplus, Jan 16, 2017 IP
  2. Anthony Benson

Anthony Benson Peon

Best Answers:
    I think it's a good idea.

Anthony Benson, Jan 16, 2017 IP
  3. GTAce

GTAce Notable Member

Best Answers:
    Yes, it's still feasible. I would recommend keeping your niche fairly small/targeted. Broad niches are difficult to get into today, but there's still plenty room left in the smaller ones.

For example...rather than a generic Health & Fitness blog....you would instead create one targeting treadmills alone - reviewing them, product comparisons, price checks, etc. That's also where the money is.

GTAce, Jan 17, 2017 IP
  4. Milliardo

Milliardo Active Member

Best Answers:
    Even today it is still a good idea. I do see people still look for writers for their sites or blogs. It would help to know your audience and target first. That would make it easier to make blog posts or else write content that would cater to them.

Milliardo, Jan 17, 2017 IP
  5. aplus

aplus Well-Known Member

Best Answers:
    Thanks you all for your answers.