1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.
  2. Better Analytics for WordPress Get It Free

AdSense trouble - Ads flashes while site loads.

Discussion in 'Placement / Reviews / Examples' started by pixies666, Jan 10, 2006.

  1. #1
    I have just added AdSense to my blog at www.stylebytes.net. The problem is that the ad keeps flashing while the ad loads. This is very annoying and must be even more annoying for my readers. How can I fix this? I use Firefox and it seems fine in other browsers.

    I would also appreciate comments on placement and so on as I don't have any experience with this...
     
    pixies666, Jan 10, 2006 IP
  2. danzor

    danzor Peon

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    16
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    i dont see any flashing. although, on first loading your site i got a psa.
     
    danzor, Jan 10, 2006 IP
  3. stdio

    stdio Peon

    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    10
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I see some flashing when I move my mouse over the logo. The logo flashes a bit.

    I also see some javascript error. That might be the issue.
     
    stdio, Jan 10, 2006 IP
  4. nevetS

    nevetS Evolving Dragon

    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    211
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #4
    nevetS, Jan 10, 2006 IP
  5. Klaas Koopman

    Klaas Koopman Peon

    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    18
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    ehm what's the problem with flashing? wouldn't this get the attention to the visitors so they click on it sooner? did anyone test ctr with and without the flashing?
     
    Klaas Koopman, Jan 10, 2006 IP
  6. nevetS

    nevetS Evolving Dragon

    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    211
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #6
    In my particular case, I have a javascript utility that gradually increases the size of my shorter columns in a three column layout so that they all end up of equal size. On the longer pages, the ads would flicker for an inordinate amount of time - causing firefox users to just go away and give my site a very unprofessional appearance. Interestingly, the yahoo ads did not have the same problem.
     
    nevetS, Jan 10, 2006 IP
  7. pixies666

    pixies666 Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    Thanks for your help guys. I tried using the code, but it didn't help... May I have done something wrong?
     
    pixies666, Jan 11, 2006 IP