1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Adsense down?

Discussion in 'AdSense' started by caroline, Sep 4, 2004.

  1. #1
    I can't get to Adsense this morning. Either I get "page cannot be displayed" or a similar custom google error. Is it my PC, or are you guys experiencing the same?

    Looks like it works now. For the last 20 minutes it didn't though.
    SEMrush
     
    caroline, Sep 4, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. kuhleen

    kuhleen Peon

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    i also experience these "adsense" downtimes; sometimes they last minutes. Should I blame my internet connection, or is this something global?

    I guess, as there is no adsense "supervisor", that people are in general subject to their own doubts when reporting these problems. Surelly in their TOS, adsense avoids to promise any uptime, and I doubt google would report downtimes after logging in in the adsense CP.
     
    kuhleen, Sep 6, 2004 IP
  3. Googles76

    Googles76 Peon

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Anyone else notice all your adsense ads are missing right now? (2:15pm Canadian time) upon checking out other pages, I don't see any other ads by google. What just happened?
     
    Googles76, Oct 9, 2004 IP
  4. joeychgo

    joeychgo Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    321
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    255
    #4
    working for me
     
    joeychgo, Oct 9, 2004 IP
  5. johncr

    johncr Peon

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Nothing to be worried about. It happens everynow and then.
     
    johncr, Oct 9, 2004 IP
  6. melfan

    melfan Peon

    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    it do happens sometime but if it happens on you frequently contact them and ask for explanation nicely.
     
    melfan, Oct 10, 2004 IP
  7. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #7
    I presume you mean only the public service ads are being displayed? If so, how often that happens depends in part on the "keywords" content of your pages and how many ads Adsense has in that category.

    I didn't notice anything different yesterday...
     
    minstrel, Oct 10, 2004 IP
  8. melfan

    melfan Peon

    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    If it is PSA only problem then @minstrel is right. Please clarify.
     
    melfan, Oct 10, 2004 IP
  9. Googles76

    Googles76 Peon

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I still can't see any ads, not even public service ads, the space where there is suppose to be ads is completely blank. I have two computers, and its the same for both so I don't think its a software conflict. I'm not banned either, I didn't get any e-mails, and I still get "some" clicks, not many, my page impressions are way down. It's almost as if my ads are displayed to a very select few people, and I'm not even one of them :(
     
    Googles76, Oct 10, 2004 IP
  10. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #10
    What's the url, Google76? Do you have javascript enabled? Do you have firewalls running on those machines? Did yhou recently upgrade to Windows XP-SP2?
     
    minstrel, Oct 10, 2004 IP
  11. Googles76

    Googles76 Peon

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    my url is http://www.sportfit.uni.cc can someone confirm that my ads are missing? There are suppose to be ads on every page, on the main home page they are suppose to be on the far right. I did not upgarde to SP2, and I only have Norton System Works installed which I don't think comes with a firewall. I did not upgrade anything, unless norton automatically upgraded intself but I don't see why it would affect both computers since my other one ONLY has norton anti-virus. Maybe I should contact google?
     
    Googles76, Oct 10, 2004 IP
  12. Googles76

    Googles76 Peon

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Oh yes, I should have java script enabled, I didn't change anything, Is there a way to check for sure?
     
    Googles76, Oct 10, 2004 IP
  13. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #13
    I see the GoogleAds on that site.

    Check for (1) ad blockers (e.g., Norton Firewall and others - SP-2 enables a popup blocker and the Windows Firewall by default I believe), and (2) javascript disabled (SP-2 may have reset this if you installed it).

    If you are using Internet Explorer, Tools | Internet Options | Security | Internet Zone | Custom Level or Tools | Internet Options | Advanced
     
    minstrel, Oct 10, 2004 IP
  14. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #14
    On the home page I see them on the far right as well as lower midpage...

    I missed this first time around...

    1. No, I don't believe System Works has a firewall, so that's not it. What about any toolbars with adblockers? Which ones do you have installed and what options are enabled?

    2. Check javascript as above.

    3. Were you EVER seeing your ads? If so, what else changed (installed / uninstalled) when they stopped showing? Are you using Windows? Which version? Do you have automatic updates enabled?
     
    minstrel, Oct 10, 2004 IP
  15. Googles76

    Googles76 Peon

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    I have java script enabled for sure, I'm able to play java games. Still can't see ads. I even tried 3 different browsers, the latest Mozilla Firefox and still nothing. However my page impressions are up and so is my CTR so it's not bad, but it's kind of annoying if I want to add more pages I can't really picture how they will look with ads.

    One theory I developed is google is purpsely blocking ads to my IP address just to check if I'm not generating any fraud clicks somehow.
     
    Googles76, Oct 11, 2004 IP
  16. Jackobo007

    Jackobo007 Peon

    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    My adsense is down too
     
    Jackobo007, Oct 11, 2004 IP
  17. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #17
    Googles76's AdSense isn't down -- I can see it fine; it's just him that can't see it.

    Where are your AdSense ads? I tried clicking on your sig link and didn't see anything on that page...

    Why would they be doing that?
     
    minstrel, Oct 11, 2004 IP
  18. Googles76

    Googles76 Peon

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Don't they run some sort of security check every once in a while, thats how they determine fraudulent clicks. I don't know, just a thought.
     
    Googles76, Oct 11, 2004 IP
  19. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #19
    If they wanted to do that, there are easier ways to do it... I highly doubt that that's the problem...
     
    minstrel, Oct 11, 2004 IP
  20. minstrel

    minstrel Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    15,082
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    480
    #20
    Jackobo007: I checked the URL you sent me. I can see the AdSense ads just fine, right below the main navigation...

    I don't know what the problem is, but it sounds similar to Googles76's...

    Again, check for anything that might be doing ad-blocking in your browser... firewall, toolbars, that sort of thing. Beyond that, I'm baffled....

    Maybe contact AdSense and ask them?
     
    minstrel, Oct 11, 2004 IP