1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

AdSense Deluxe plugin - How do I set it so text fits around the ad?

Discussion in 'WordPress' started by kiplarson, Apr 7, 2007.

  1. #1
    I installed this adsense deluxe plugin and am trying to figure out how to place my 300 x 250 ads so that the text wraps around the ad.

    i.e.

    text text text Adddddddddddddddddddddddd
    text text text Adddddddddddddddddddddddd
    text text text Adddddddddddddddddddddddd
    text text text Adddddddddddddddddddddddd
    text text text Adddddddddddddddddddddddd
    text text text text text text text text text
    text text text text text text text text text
    SEMrush
    See what I mean? Because the only way I've gotten it to work now is have the ad show up first (with plenty of space on the left / right side) and then the text of the post beneath that.

    Any ideas on how to accomplish this? I'm also trying to figure out which template to put this code in:

    <?php adsense_deluxe_ads('Ad_Name'); ?>

    So I assume I need to ad some sort of formatting around this php code, but I don't know what it would be. And does anyone know which template to put the code in so that it will work on every post in the site?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    kiplarson, Apr 7, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. kiplarson

    kiplarson Peon

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Do I need to do something in like the css to make it work? I'd just like it to nest in every post on my site, but I want the text to wrap around it.

    There don't seem to be any tips really in the readme for this type of question so I don't know what to do.
     
    kiplarson, Apr 8, 2007 IP
  3. Arnie

    Arnie Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,004
    Likes Received:
    116
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #3
    I couldn't figure it out with adsense de luxe either.
    So I'm using "mighty adsense", that rocks.
     
    Arnie, Apr 9, 2007 IP
  4. kiplarson

    kiplarson Peon

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Do you have a link to that plugin? I just picked this one because it was on John Chow's list of 16 best plugin's so I figured that'd be a good place to start.
     
    kiplarson, Apr 9, 2007 IP
  5. TheSyndicate

    TheSyndicate Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,368
    Likes Received:
    289
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    365
    #5
    this plug in does not work with the new WP update or ? i can not make it to work
     
    TheSyndicate, Apr 9, 2007 IP
  6. kiplarson

    kiplarson Peon

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    I'm using wordpress 2.13 by the way. If anyone knows how to help out fill us in.

    YelloBerry, are you using wordpress 2.13 as well?
     
    kiplarson, Apr 9, 2007 IP
  7. AmeryWeb

    AmeryWeb Guest

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    kiplarson,
    When placing the Adsense code in the configuration box, surround it with the <span> tag.

    Try this...
    <span style="margin: 5px; float: right; width: 300px; height: 250px;">
    ***Adsense code goes here***
    </span>
    Code (markup):
    Personally, I like including the 5px margin so that there is some space between the text and the ad.
    You can change it to 0 or delete it completely if you don't want it.

    Hope that helps. ;)
     
    AmeryWeb, Apr 9, 2007 IP
  8. kiplarson

    kiplarson Peon

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Ok, sweet thanks for the code. What template do I put that in? I want it to just show up in every post I make, wether it's on the front page or not. And I'd just prefer to have it do it automatically (so I'm assuming that I have to put it in the template). Do you know what spot I need to put it at so that it'll do that?

    Thanks again
     
    kiplarson, Apr 9, 2007 IP
  9. kiplarson

    kiplarson Peon

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Has anyone figured out which template to put it in so it shows up in the upper right of each and every post on my site (up to 3?). Because I went back to the official site and still could not find the template to do it in, so any ideas would be nice.

    Thanks in advance.
     
    kiplarson, Apr 10, 2007 IP
  10. AmeryWeb

    AmeryWeb Guest

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I'm sorry. I couldn't find any info on how to insert the ad automatically in posts.
    Only way I know is to edit the files to include it in other areas. eg. sidebars, headers,
    footers, etc.


    Adsense Deluxe does include a button (dropdown menu) to insert the code in the
    backend post editor. But, it only works if WYSIWYG is disabled.

    Maybe someone else has a solution?
     
    AmeryWeb, Apr 10, 2007 IP
  11. kiplarson

    kiplarson Peon

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Hmmmm, does anyone know? I thought that it automatically placed them in your posts (properly formatted and everything) I suppose it wouldn't be that big of a pain to just insert them every time you write a post, but I'd just prefer auto implementation of course.
     
    kiplarson, Apr 11, 2007 IP
  12. Arnie

    Arnie Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,004
    Likes Received:
    116
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #12
    I tried to find mightyadsense plugin, but seems it's gone. wordpress has cleanded up, there were thousands of plugins before now only a couple of hundred.

    still I'm using mightyadsense and it works great. the ad code is put automatically left, center or right in the posts. You can chose from 10 different codes to have them placed where ever you need it, it also does tracking. works great with auctionads or if you want to make your own ads.

    Probably it's coming again, I hope for you guys.

    I'm using the latest version of wordpress.
     
    Arnie, Apr 13, 2007 IP
  13. Arnie

    Arnie Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,004
    Likes Received:
    116
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #13
    Anyone who wants the mightyadsense script drop me a note and I'll send it to you.
     
    Arnie, Apr 14, 2007 IP
    samantha pia likes this.
  14. kiplarson

    kiplarson Peon

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I'm interested in it. I'll send you a pm.

    In the meantime, does anyone know how to put the ads in automatically with adsense deluxe? I just really want to avoid the hastle of doing it every time I make a post.

    I have it installed fine, I just don't know where to put the code / how to put the code so it shows up a max of three times etc. automatically.

    Thanks in advance.
     
    kiplarson, Apr 17, 2007 IP
  15. TheSyndicate

    TheSyndicate Prominent Member

    Messages:
    5,368
    Likes Received:
    289
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    365
    #15
    sure send it to my email my nick name and info@ infront :)
     
    TheSyndicate, Apr 21, 2007 IP
  16. AmeryWeb

    AmeryWeb Guest

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    AmeryWeb, Apr 21, 2007 IP