1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

AdSense ads missing?

Discussion in 'AdSense' started by Will.Spencer, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. #1
    Yesterday, I noticed a long stretch of time where AdSense ads would not appear on one of my sites. Today, it just started happening again.

    The AdSense ads are not replaced with the Adsense Alternate Ads, they are simply missing. The content below the AdSense ads simply moves upwards.

    Correspondingly, my AdSense revenue is significantly down yesterday and today.

    Has anyone else noticed this on their sites?
    SEMrush
     
    Will.Spencer, Jan 2, 2005 IP
    SEMrush
  2. EdenView

    EdenView Peon

    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Actually, no...

    My impressions to uniques is about right, in fact, higher than normal from my raw logs.

    Best of luck finding out what's up.
     
    EdenView, Jan 2, 2005 IP
  3. Googles76

    Googles76 Peon

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    I see your ads fine. I actually had a big thread on here about the same problem. I don't remember how I finally solved it. But I think it had something to do with a built in ads blocker since I was using a different browser. Do you have any 3rd party browsers or adaware programs installed?
     
    Googles76, Jan 2, 2005 IP
  4. Will.Spencer

    Will.Spencer NetBuilder

    Messages:
    14,789
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    375
    #4
    Googles76:

    I cannot fathom how or why, but the issue seems to be confined to Fort Liberty.

    I am quite confused.

    Ads don't show, then I hit <refresh> and then they do. And then I hit <refresh> and then they don't.
     
    Will.Spencer, Jan 3, 2005 IP
  5. AdsenseClicker

    AdsenseClicker Peon

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I am also having this problem occasionally.... :confused:
     
    AdsenseClicker, Jan 3, 2005 IP
  6. dejaone

    dejaone Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    30
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    143
    #6
    I can see adsense on your site. most of users may be able to view the ads even if they don't show up for some of viewers
     
    dejaone, Jan 3, 2005 IP
  7. Will.Spencer

    Will.Spencer NetBuilder

    Messages:
    14,789
    Likes Received:
    1,040
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    375
    #7
    I was noticing this issue on other sites of mine today.

    Revenue is down about 25%.

    It seems that the ads which do not display still count as Impressions, so it's my CTR which sees the hit.

    Either that... or my CTR failling 25% is unrelated. Wouldn't that be funny?
     
    Will.Spencer, Jan 7, 2005 IP
  8. john_loch

    john_loch Rodent Slayer

    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    66
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #8
    Fort Liberty is fine for me.
    Consistent behaviour on reloads, and the ads themselves behave as expected.

    Just another note.. you said in your original post that the alt ads do not show, instead the ad just moves up. Usually, for this to happen, you need to specify a script to do this (collapse the ad) as the alternate ad. Perhaps yours is different somehow.. :)

    Cheers,

    JL
     
    john_loch, Jan 7, 2005 IP
  9. ryanturner.com

    ryanturner.com Peon

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I have seen the issue happen with bad css. Causing z-index or width tags to cause the ads to not display correctly on certain browsers. Sounds like that might be the issue - there.
     
    ryanturner.com, Jan 13, 2005 IP
  10. my3cents

    my3cents Peon

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I tried to pull up your site but the server would not respond. I was reading yesterday about folks who set their security settings to "High" in IE will no longer see Adsense ads (since it is javascript). Check your IE settings, I think you might be able to set these levels different per site, maybe something happened there?

    In any case, hope your revenue gets back to normal... Good luck.
     
    my3cents, Jan 13, 2005 IP
  11. Zinho

    Zinho Peon

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I noticed the same. I'm a new AdSense user and after 1 day my ads disappeared completely. the script seems to load but not the ads. Also impressions are set to 0. Very very strange.
     
    Zinho, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  12. yfs1

    yfs1 User Title Not Found

    Messages:
    13,799
    Likes Received:
    922
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I have found this happens when there aren't any ads matching the content (according to Google).

    It usually happens to me when I am running two boxes. The first box has only 2 (which it holds 4) and the second box is empty. I made some changes to make the ads a bit more general and now both boxes are filled.

    Could this be the issue (I have an alternate ad specified but I believe that is only to replace the PSA)
     
    yfs1, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  13. pg20706

    pg20706 Peon

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    It happens to my site sometimes. Usually the Ads would appear after a while. My guess is that G's servers were too busy at that time.
     
    pg20706, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  14. buteverde

    buteverde Guest

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    I haven't used AOL very often. An account still exists through the studio where I work. Notice that there are no ads or space for them showing on any of my seven sites' pages. Has it always been blocked at AOL and I just didn't know it? Or is this new?

    Best to you . . . buteverde
     
    buteverde, Jan 14, 2005 IP
  15. lingeriediva

    lingeriediva Peon

    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    This happens at my sites from time to time...But only in IE, if I use Mozilla there the ads are.

    Very strange.

    And, as this is my first post: Hi all!
     
    lingeriediva, Jan 15, 2005 IP
  16. Zinho

    Zinho Peon

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    I don't think this is related to a browser compatibility problem. Sometimes if you refresh the page the ads are there. I check my page both with Firefox and IE with no luck. I contacted G yesterday and I hope to receive a response. This doesn't seem a serious service to me even if its payouts are the best.
    I will let you know their response.
     
    Zinho, Jan 15, 2005 IP
  17. buteverde

    buteverde Guest

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Perhaps my thought not clear. In the case where one has AOL as service provider, logs in through AOL and uses their version of browser. No ads.

    All our seven sites are content sites, humorous and well-researched articles on each site's own topic. Many of our occasional and subscribed users will be coming through AOL.

    I've learned so much by reading the posts here, but I've never posted, feeling I had little to offer in return to such a cadre of pros. I'm not surprised if no one at the DP forum has access to an AOL account. :rolleyes:

    My lady, Marjorie, and I still dream we will cross a threshold where our sites (and all the effort) will be self-supporting, and wow! maybe even a profit. AdSense looks good to accomplish the first of these goals after all these years of almost nothing in other sales. Also our traffic increases every month. The Food topic site had a smidgen short of 10,000 visitors in December.

    So AOL plays its stupid role in our lives, and we worry, why don't the ads show up? We're trying hard to learn all we can about "parasite" activity, as well, fearing that's why we could be with LinkShare for years with never a creditted sale.

    best to you . . . buteverde
     
    buteverde, Jan 17, 2005 IP
  18. my3cents

    my3cents Peon

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    12
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    Will, do you have multiple ad units on the page where you are seeing nothing? I too have seen this happen, but only in the case where Google could not find ads for my second ad unit.

    Otherwise you should at least see the public sponsor ads.... unless you have that turned off with an alternate URL...

    Verify your adsense code... just to make sure... maybe something got accidently changed slightly... I've done that once and no ads would show but I didn't realize my mistake until I combed my code.

    Good luck!
     
    my3cents, Jan 17, 2005 IP
  19. buteverde

    buteverde Guest

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Thanks, 3cents, I've always paused to read your replies in other threads.

    Yes, I have multiple ad units everywhere and all (almost all) works wonderfully. As I said AdSense will make it possible to cover yearly costs where affiliate advertising has been poor.

    And yes, I see ads as expected in almost all cases. I run many browsers simutaneously: IE, Mozilla, Opera, Safari. One negative result must be some error in my page coding: at http://www.whatsnewemu.com ads appear fine except on the "Emu'sNews" archive page which consistently gets a Service ad.

    The effect I'm seeing is when I log in as an AOL user and see any of our sites with their browser. No ads. Not even space where they would have been.

    Perhaps my favorite of Marjorie's sites is the Technology topic: http://www.bytebackonline.com for the irony of using the high tech of HTML and Internet to publish articles about how difficult it is for us older folks to live with it all.

    Ads all appear as they ought except with AOL's browser.

    Best to you . . . buteverde
     
    buteverde, Jan 17, 2005 IP
  20. wendydettmer

    wendydettmer Peon

    Messages:
    1,462
    Likes Received:
    70
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    The same thing has been happening to me when I'm trying to ad a second ad section. The second one appears, and the first one goes away. Other sites with the same content have multiple ads running, so I don't think it's that there aren't enough ads.
     
    wendydettmer, Jan 17, 2005 IP