1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Ads suddenly gone from my pages

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by yonnermark, Nov 10, 2004.

  1. #1
    Here's the url (ads should be at the bottom before all the piano-related links):
    www.bedroomtalent.com/guests/

    Here's the code I'm using:
    <?php
    ini_set ("include_path", ini_get ("include_path") . ':../:../../:../../../:../../../../');
    include ('ad_network.php');
    echo $ad_network[0];
    ?>

    It used to work fine but I just got an email saying I'd failed validation because the ads weren't showing on the above guestbook page.

    Any clues?
    thanks
    mark
     
    yonnermark, Nov 10, 2004 IP
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    The code is there, but it's not being parsed as PHP. If you look at the source, it simply spits it out as literal text. If it's already a PHP file and within the <?php tags, try taking out the opening and closing PHP tags.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 10, 2004 IP
  3. yonnermark

    yonnermark Peon

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    yonnermark, Nov 10, 2004 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #4
    Well, for whatever reason the portion of the page that the PHP code is in is not being evaluated as PHP. Not sure why since I can't get at the source... but if the PHP code isn't in the PHP file itself (like it's in an include or something), that would be a good place to start looking.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 10, 2004 IP
  5. yonnermark

    yonnermark Peon

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Thanks Shawn
    Would you mind if I PM'd you the admin user/pass? I have no idea what is causing this. The problem seems to have generated itself, I haven't touched the ads for weeks but today I got a failed validation error. Now my ads are disabled across the network (I think) and I'm clueless as to how to fix it.

    Any idea why the problem only just emmerged?

    thanks
    mark
     
    yonnermark, Nov 10, 2004 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #6
    Uh... actually I don't want to touch anyone's servers/sites. :)
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 10, 2004 IP
  7. g00gl3r

    g00gl3r Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    128
    #7
    I think I am having the same problem with my forum software matey... parhaps we could help each other?
     
    g00gl3r, Nov 10, 2004 IP
  8. yonnermark

    yonnermark Peon

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Any other suggestions then Shawn?
    We've verified that the code is fine, I've tried it with php open/close tags with no joy. The ads used to parse fine.

    any clues?
     
    yonnermark, Nov 11, 2004 IP
  9. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #9
    Sorry, I don't know... the best thing to do would be to have someone with PHP experience get into the guts of that script and see what's up.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 11, 2004 IP
  10. g00gl3r

    g00gl3r Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    128
    #10
    the alternative is to remove the ads :(
     
    g00gl3r, Nov 11, 2004 IP
  11. yonnermark

    yonnermark Peon

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    hi google, did you fix your problem on your forum? Any joy?
    Would I have to remove the ads from the whole site? or can I somehow tell the system not to include my guestbook?

    thanks
    mark
     
    yonnermark, Nov 12, 2004 IP
  12. yonnermark

    yonnermark Peon

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Would I have to remove the ads from the whole site? or can I somehow tell the system not to include my guestbook?

    thanks
    mark
     
    yonnermark, Nov 12, 2004 IP
  13. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #13
    The ads would need to be site-wide, so if part of your site is not able to run them (for whatever reason), it wouldn't do any good to put it on other parts of the site.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 12, 2004 IP
  14. yonnermark

    yonnermark Peon

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    Right, OK so what is a workaround here? How about...

    1. Link to my guestbook (where the ads aren't working) using a javascript link which your spider (?) can presumably not follow. Is that OK?

    2. Delete my account. How could I do that?

    3. Find out why the ads suddently don't appear on the guestbook.

    thanks
    mark
     
    yonnermark, Nov 12, 2004 IP
  15. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #15
    All of those are options... as far as deleting your account, you don't need to do that as the validater will pick it up automatically.
     
    digitalpoint, Nov 12, 2004 IP
  16. yonnermark

    yonnermark Peon

    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    thanks. I'll see what I can do
     
    yonnermark, Nov 12, 2004 IP