1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Ads in Frames

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by mocara, Oct 16, 2004.

  1. #1
    Hi guys,
    I've placed some ads on a page which is inside a framset. How do you adivce changing the code so that the links break out of the framset?
    SEMrush
    Regards,
    Mocara
     
    mocara, Oct 16, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    Not sure what you mean.
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 16, 2004 IP
  3. SEbasic

    SEbasic Peon

    Messages:
    6,318
    Likes Received:
    318
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Do you mean like this...

    <a href="whatever" display="_blank">link text</a>
     
    SEbasic, Oct 16, 2004 IP
  4. lowrider14044

    lowrider14044 Raider

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Are you sure you'd want to do that? I have a few pages that are frames pages. I let mine open in the main frame. That way they stay in your site rather then being directed away. They don't have to hit the back button to get back to you.

    The command SEbasic recommended works in standard text links in html and makes the target link open in a new browser page but I'm not sure if it will work with the php call for the ad? Is there any easy way to modify the php to make the link open in a new page?
     
    lowrider14044, Oct 17, 2004 IP
  5. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    460
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #5
    I think a target="_top" would be a better option, don't you?
     
    digitalpoint, Oct 17, 2004 IP
  6. ViciousSummer

    ViciousSummer Ayn Rand for President! Staff

    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    526
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    308
    #6
    I think that opening an ad link in a frame would be confusing (not to mention annoying) to your visitors. Perhaps I just think it's silly to try and "trap" people from clicking off your site. ;)
     
    ViciousSummer, Oct 17, 2004 IP
  7. lowrider14044

    lowrider14044 Raider

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I don't think it's really trying to trap them. I know when I'm surfing looking for something I might see a link on a site that looks interesting but don't necessarily want to leave the website yet. To me it's anoying to have to hit the back button sometimes multiple times to get back to where you were. Actually my first preference for my site as well as when I'm surfing is to have links open in new pages. That's just my preference though. I wish there were a way to do that with teh ad network links. Maybe there is but I just can't figure out how?
     
    lowrider14044, Oct 18, 2004 IP