1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Ads have disappeared after vB upgrade

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by bLaDeY, Feb 16, 2006.

  1. #1
    Hey there All,
    I have just made the leap from vB 3.0.7 => 3.5.3 which was well overdue.

    Anyway the upgrade went well as planned however the ads down the bottom don't appear on the following link http://forums.justcommodores.com.au

    Now, I did revert the templates but ensured the $ad_network went back into place, the php file and txt file is still there with what I believe to be the right permissions as by rights they shouldn't have been touched, I ran the xml file and installed it into vB which hasn't made any difference.

    Any idea's where I've gone wrong would be very much appreciated.
    SEMrush
    Thanks


    Cheers
    Darren
     
    bLaDeY, Feb 16, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,299
    Likes Received:
    2,603
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    There is a different setup for vB 3.5.x, so you will want to get that from the setup instructions.
     
    digitalpoint, Feb 16, 2006 IP
  3. bLaDeY

    bLaDeY Guest

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Hi there Shawn, Thanks for the reply :)

    I upgraded the php file and txt file a week or so and noticed that it had changed, I went through after reverting the templates and added back in the appropriate settings for 3.5.x.

    Checking the error log for apache there is nothing coming up so I'm at a bit of a loss why they aren't appearing.
     
    bLaDeY, Feb 16, 2006 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,299
    Likes Received:
    2,603
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #4
    Did you go through the setup instructions (completely) for 3.5.x?
     
    digitalpoint, Feb 16, 2006 IP
  5. bLaDeY

    bLaDeY Guest

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    That's correct, right from the very top other than re-creating the ad_network* files
     
    bLaDeY, Feb 16, 2006 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,299
    Likes Received:
    2,603
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #6
    Plug-in installed and all that?
     
    digitalpoint, Feb 16, 2006 IP
  7. bLaDeY

    bLaDeY Guest

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    It certainly is.

    I am more than happy to provide you with the un / pw for admin rights but I am pretty certain I have everything right.
     
    bLaDeY, Feb 16, 2006 IP
  8. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,299
    Likes Received:
    2,603
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #8
    Sure... if you want me to take a look... shoot me the info via PM.
     
    digitalpoint, Feb 16, 2006 IP
  9. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,299
    Likes Received:
    2,603
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #9
    digitalpoint, Feb 17, 2006 IP
  10. bLaDeY

    bLaDeY Guest

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Thanks for that Shawn, after going through I can see exactly where I went wrong (something soo simple!), I was running ad_network_161.php, of course when I downloaded the xml file to install via the plugin system it was looking for the up to date version not the old copy I was running.

    Thanks again for your assistance
     
    bLaDeY, Feb 17, 2006 IP