1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Ads are running, but the page cannot be validated

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. #1
    I set up co-op ads on a subdomain. Let's just say that its name is subdomain.myDomain.com.

    q1. Can I validate this subdomain alone?

    q1.2. Clicking on "Validate/Calculate Weight Now" does not work. It just tells me, "Site failed automatic validation as of [date time]". What am I missing?

    q2. What's next ... ???
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #2
    What specific page does it say it can't find ads on?
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  3. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Error message doesn't specify any page. The following is the error message I got:

    ********************************************************
    Site failed automatic validation as of 2005-03-07 (make sure URL and site type is correct - if everything is correct, make a request in the forum for assistance).
    ********************************************************
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #4
    When you run the validation, you will see a red note at the top telling you the specific page it can't find ads on.
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  5. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    I finally found it, but since I haven't set up any ad on that domain (the domain I registered with when I set up co-op ad initially), I just changed it to the domain that I just set up co-op ad. Now it's validated, and also I see some weight.

    q. Suppose that I'm running co-op ads on the domain subdomainABC.myDomain.com and also subdomainABC.myDomain.com is the site/forum url that I have in my co-op ad account. If I want to start running co-op ads on some other domain, I should just set up ads on that domain and running? Will it give me weight though the domain is not registered in my co-op ad account?
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #6
    You would need to setup a different account for a different domain (you can bind the accounts together).
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  7. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    q. Are subdomains considered different domains in this case? For example, if I want to run co-op ads on blog.myDomain.com, forum.myDomain.com, store.myDomain.com and directory.myDomain.com, do I need to set up 4 different accounts?
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  8. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #8
    You can only setup one account per domain, so you would either have to run them on all subdomains (and use the base URL of mydomain.com), or pick one sub-domain.
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  9. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Ok, I'd like to run this on all sub domains (on one domain).

    q1. I'd enter myDomain.com for "Site/Forum URL". Is this correct?

    q2. How does validation work in this case?

    q2.2. Does the validation automatically pick up all sub domains?
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  10. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #10
    Correct... (on both assumptions)
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  11. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Actually, I need to confirm one more thing. If I decide to not run any ad on a certain subdomain, how does it work? For example, I run ads on forum.myDomain.com and directory.myDomain.com, but not on blog.myDomain.com. Then what happens?
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  12. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #12
    If you use the domain as your base URL, it will be knocked out of the network for not running ads the first time the validator checks that sub-domain.
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  13. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    So the choice is either all sub domains or just one sub domain. Is that right? No matter what I try, I cannot run ads on only 2 or 3 sub domains?
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  14. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #14
    Correct...
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  15. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Just let me clarify one more thing. If I decide to enter myDomain.com in my account's Site/Forum URL, then every single page on the domain needs to be running co-op ad. Is that correct?
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  16. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #16
    Correct...
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  17. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Ok, I've got some problem here.

    First, I entered myDomain.com, but it didn't work, because I was required to enter http://. So I entered http://myDomain.com/. This worked ok, but then validation did not work. Every single sub domain now runs co-op ad, which means that every single page on the domain myDomain.com runs co-op ad. Now what do I do?
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  18. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #18
    When you try to validate your site, what's the specific page it says it can't find ads on?
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  19. ohcnetwork

    ohcnetwork Peon

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #19
    Ads not found on http://ohcnetwork.com/

    And this is right, as I entered "http://ohcnetwork.com/" in Site/Forum URL.
     
    ohcnetwork, Mar 7, 2005 IP
  20. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    36,619
    Likes Received:
    2,383
    Best Answers:
    406
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    26
    #20
    Ads would need to be on that page.
     
    digitalpoint, Mar 7, 2005 IP