1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Adding Rss Feed Script to Homepage

Discussion in 'PHP' started by Christopher Thompson, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. #1
    I want to add script from my blog to my homepage so that on the front page viewers can see my recent blog entries. How do I do it?
     
    Christopher Thompson, Feb 25, 2009 IP
  2. Joak1m

    Joak1m Peon

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Its quite easy with PHP SimpleXmlElement, heres an example

    
    <?php 
    $url = "http://feeds2.feedburner.com/2raccoon"; 
    $file = file_get_contents($url); 
    $xml = new SimpleXmlElement($file);
    foreach ($xml->channel->item as $entry){ 
    echo "<p><a href='$entry->link' title='$entry->title'>" . $entry->title . "</p>"; 
    }
    ?>
    
    PHP:
     
    Joak1m, Feb 25, 2009 IP
  3. unlimitedmoviez

    unlimitedmoviez Peon

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    r u using wordpress or something else
    if you are using wordpress then u can manage easily.you can use rss Widgets
     
    unlimitedmoviez, Feb 25, 2009 IP
  4. Christopher Thompson

    Christopher Thompson Peon

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Script worked great, is it possible to limit number of posts that show. It shows 4 right now I only want two at a time?
     
    Christopher Thompson, Feb 25, 2009 IP
  5. infogle

    infogle Prominent Member

    Messages:
    2,732
    Likes Received:
    128
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    300
    #5
    post numbers can be easily tweaked in your feedburner account...
     
    infogle, Feb 25, 2009 IP
  6. sundaybrew

    sundaybrew Numerati

    Messages:
    7,294
    Likes Received:
    1,260
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    560
    #6
    You can use EXEC-PHP its a wordpress plugin that allows you to run PHP code in your posts I.E. feeds :)
     
    sundaybrew, Feb 25, 2009 IP
    Kerosene likes this.
  7. Danltn

    Danltn Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    36
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    120
    #7
    $url = "http://feeds2.feedburner.com/2raccoon";
    
    $file = file_get_contents($url);
    $xml = new SimpleXmlElement($file);
    $total = 2;
    $counter = 0;
    foreach ($xml->channel->item as $entry) {
    	if(++$counter > $total) break;
        echo "<p><a href='$entry->link' title='$entry->title'>" . $entry->title . "</p>";
    }
    PHP:
     
    Danltn, Feb 25, 2009 IP
  8. JAZD Markets

    JAZD Markets Peon

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    I am also having trouble with limiting the number of links for my rss feed. I use the same code as above, but how do I get only 3 different articles to show at a time?
     
    JAZD Markets, Feb 27, 2009 IP