1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

add new rows in gridview

Discussion in 'C#' started by btzr, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. #1
    I'm using Visual Studio and developing an ASP webshop website (in VB). I've attached an sql database and put a gridview on the form which pulls up the product details from the database. I can turn on Edit and Delete in the gridview so it is easy to edit the rows, but how can I add new rows? What would be the easiest solution? thanks!
    SEMrush
     
    btzr, Jun 15, 2010 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Craig M

    Craig M Guest

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    try this...

    hxxp://www.4guysfromrolla.com/articles/021203-1.aspx
     
    Craig M, Jun 23, 2010 IP
  3. bitstream

    bitstream Peon

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    insert into .....

    gridview.databind
     
    bitstream, Jul 4, 2010 IP
  4. m2hmonique

    m2hmonique Peon

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Hello,

    Please elaborate little bit more. thanks :)
     
    m2hmonique, Jul 4, 2010 IP
  5. zinist

    zinist Banned

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #5
    Hello,

    You can use RowCommand event to add new row in gridview...

    sample code

    protected void gridView_RowCommand(object sender, GridViewCommandEventArgs e)
    {
    if (e.CommandName.Equals("AddNew"))
    {
    TextBox inRollNo = (TextBox)gridView.FooterRow.FindControl("inRollNo");
    TextBox Name = (TextBox)gridView.FooterRow.FindControl("inName");
    TextBox Address = (TextBox)gridView.FooterRow.FindControl("inAddress");
    // FileUpload image = (FileUpload)gridView.FooterRow.FindControl("FileUpload2");
    //string str= image.FileName;
    con.Open();
    SqlCommand cmd =
    new SqlCommand( "insert into Table1(Name,Address) values('" +Name.Text + "','" +Address.Text + "')", con);
    int result = cmd.ExecuteNonQuery();
    con.Close();
    if (result == 1)
    {
    loadStores();
    lblmsg.BackColor = Color.Green;
    lblmsg.ForeColor = Color.White;
    lblmsg.Text = inRollNo.Text + " Added successfully...... ";
    }
    else
    {
    lblmsg.BackColor = Color.Red;
    lblmsg.ForeColor = Color.White;
    lblmsg.Text = inRollNo.Text + " Error while adding row.....";
    }
    }
    }
     
    zinist, Jun 27, 2015 IP
  6. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,622
    Likes Received:
    717
    Best Answers:
    151
    Trophy Points:
    420
    #6
    The forum has a CODE-button, for use when pasting code. Please use it? You can also just use the bbcode [ CODE ] code goes here [ /CODE ] (without the spaces)
     
    PoPSiCLe, Jun 27, 2015 IP
  7. necko16

    necko16 Greenhorn

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    #8
    you can try the following code

    [ CODE ]protectedvoidButton1_Click(object sender,EventArgs e){DataTable dt =newDataTable();

    if(dt.Columns.Count==0){
    dt.Columns.Add("PayScale",typeof(string));
    dt.Columns.Add("IncrementAmt",typeof(string));
    dt.Columns.Add("Period",typeof(string));}

    DataRowNewRow= dt.NewRow();NewRow[0]=TextBox1.Text;NewRow[1]=TextBox2.Text;
    dt.Rows.Add(NewRow);GridView1.DataSource= dt;GridViewl.DataBind();}[ /CODE ]

    here payscale,incrementamt and period are database field name.
     
    necko16, Dec 6, 2017 IP