1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

adCenter Content Ads Beta Changing URLs

Discussion in 'Bing Ads' started by GuyFromChicago, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. #1
    Basically my destination urls are being changed - adCenter is adding characters to them which is causing issues with my analytics package. "Issues" meaning I can't track anything...

    Basically anytime adCenter sees a "&" in my url it adds "amp;" to the url.

    So if the url I entered was;

    www.t-e-s-t.com/productID1&Section4.html
    SEMrush
    adCenter is changing it to;

    www.t-e-s-t.com/productID1&Section4.html

    Anyone else run into this?

    http://www.ppcdiscussions.com/2006/11/adcenter-content-ads-beta-changing.html
     
    GuyFromChicago, Nov 9, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    778
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    Yes, I get it with +es.

    I create the tracked URLs for G.A. and a space becomes a +. In AdWords I have a campaign Blue Widgets so in AdCenter I type utm_campaign=Blue+Widgets and they convert it to ascii so in my reports I have two separate campaigns, one with a + and one with a space so it becomes a pain to compare performance.
     
    T0PS3O, Nov 9, 2006 IP
  3. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    Crap, sounds like I may be SOL. My problem is when the amp; is inserted the click is no longer treated as paid search by my analytics package...it's treated as organic search. In some cases the addition of the amp;actually breaks the url so instead of bringing people to the product detail for product A it brings them to catagory A.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Nov 9, 2006 IP
  4. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    778
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Core should be able to fix it if MS won't.
     
    T0PS3O, Nov 9, 2006 IP
  5. codeber

    codeber Peon

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    its best practice not to use & in your page urls.
    I'm not 100% they would pass w3c validation.

    And may cause unexpected programs like this one.
     
    codeber, Nov 9, 2006 IP
  6. T0PS3O

    T0PS3O Feel Good PLC

    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    778
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    That's like saying it's best practice to drive with square wheels.

    Having URLs without & is virtually impossible for proper systems. MSN not being able to deal with it is definitely not the webmaster's fault.
     
    T0PS3O, Nov 9, 2006 IP
  7. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #7
    I'm not quite sure who's "best practice" that is. Regardless, that's not really a viable option for me at this point.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Nov 9, 2006 IP
  8. amstrad

    amstrad Active Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #8
    when adcenter will be open open to all people ?
     
    amstrad, Nov 10, 2006 IP
  9. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    I've been working with the adCenter group since yesterday on the issue. We're making some headway and when I find out the details (when it will be fixed, and any back end reprocussions) I'll post an update here.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Nov 10, 2006 IP
  10. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    528
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Update: The adCenter team has resolved the issue and provided an easy way for me to fix all of the existing campaigns that were impacted.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Nov 14, 2006 IP