1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

ad_network PHP File Update

Discussion in 'Co-op Advertising Network' started by digitalpoint, Mar 31, 2005.

  1. Haichi

    Haichi Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    128
    #101

    This is what I did last time but sometimes Dreamweaver only replaces half of the code :) Really good when it works but annoying when it does'nt

    I wonder if I have been doing something wrong or my dreamveaver is just buggy
     
    Haichi, Apr 2, 2005 IP
  2. anton-io!

    anton-io! Active Member

    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #102
    sorry to hear ... could be the version ...

    Sometimes it can be buggy :(

    There's gotta be something out there to modify 200+ pages
     
    anton-io!, Apr 2, 2005 IP
  3. lakrasia

    lakrasia Peon

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #103
    Hi Shawn,

    Can't get the new version working properly - using 215.php and selecting text only and 5 ads. It displays a different mixture of text, text banners and graphic banners on each refresh. I don't really think I can be doing anything wrong as the set up instructions are very straightforward.

    Cheers
    Linda
     
    lakrasia, Apr 3, 2005 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #104
    Try flushing your cache (.txt) file... if you set it up with banners at one point, then switched to a different format, the banners would be in the cache still.
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 3, 2005 IP
  5. lakrasia

    lakrasia Peon

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #105
    Hi, thanks - you must have replied the instant I pressed the send button!
    Brilliant - it works just fine now :D
     
    lakrasia, Apr 3, 2005 IP
  6. jnm

    jnm Guest

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #106
    shawn,

    does the file name indicate a newer version of the script or do you have code that increments the # of the file up each day (i.e. 212, 213, 214)?
     
    jnm, Apr 3, 2005 IP
  7. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #107
    The date the script was last updated is shown in the comment at the top of the PHP file.
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 3, 2005 IP
  8. kyle422

    kyle422 Peon

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #108
    Use a passthru.php page added to your site with this code. IF needed change the navy blue text in the code to whatever you named the ad_network_215.php file.
    <?php
    
    if (!function_exists('file_get_contents')) {
    function file_get_contents($url) {
    $handle = fopen($url, 'r');
    $string = fread($handle, 4096000);
    fclose($handle);
    return $string;
    }
    }
    
    include ('[COLOR=Navy]ad_network_215.php[/COLOR]');
    echo preg_replace ("/<\/body>/i", $ad_network . '</body>', file_get_contents(str_replace ('../', '', $_REQUEST['file'])));
    
    ?>
    Code (markup):
    Next create .htaccess file with the code below and put it on the root directory of your site/server.
    AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .htm .html
    <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} ^(.*).htm [NC,OR]
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} ^(.*).html [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*) /passthru.php?file=$1
    </IfModule>
    Code (markup):
    Hope that helps you! Of course you will most likely have to remove the old code on every page of your site, but at least on the next Coop update you only have to change a couple of files.
     
    kyle422, Apr 3, 2005 IP
  9. bobafind

    bobafind Peon

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #109
    Hmmm.. My weight was sitting nicely at 54,000, validated today, then I installed the new file and my weight went to 24,000. I just revalidated again, hoping it would go back, and it's now at 8,750. Waah! Just letting you know. If there's anything I can do, please let me know.

    FYI: My backlinks, PR and Pages in URL have not changed through all of this and I checked each time my weight changed :(.
     
    bobafind, Apr 3, 2005 IP
  10. l234244

    l234244 Peon

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #110

    I only see 81 pages returned for site:www.bobafind.com in google, and only 18 indexed when using the api.
     
    l234244, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  11. riziko

    riziko Peon

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #111
    Hi. I am just looking at your code and noticed that

    ads.digitalpoint.com/network.php?b=...

    should be:

    ads.digitalpoint.com/network.php?c=

    the B version is the old (soon to be obsolete) version.

    BTW Anyone know what the "MSIE-Firefox-Safari-Netscape" bit used for in the response? I need some comments in that PHP code.

    Ross
     
    riziko, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  12. Perrow

    Perrow Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,306
    Likes Received:
    78
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #112
    As noted in the previous post some omissions where made by me updating the asp script, so here I go again.
     

    Attached Files:

    Perrow, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  13. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #113
    There is also a PHP based work around for ASP sites
    Here

    I strongly suggest using the PHP version above as the ASP one can lead to a whole world of problems if you have decent traffic.
     
    sji2671, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  14. bobafind

    bobafind Peon

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #114
    Check forums.bobafind.com : 6,100 pages
     
    bobafind, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  15. iShopHQ

    iShopHQ Peon

    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    33
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #115
    Re: ASP Version:

    I tried the new ASp file on one site for a day and had not problem. Low volume site getting about 50 visitors a day. SO I deploye it across all my sites (total about 2,000 visitors a day) and in minutes my server stopped responding.

    I had to back out to the old version..... YIKES!

    I run myt own windows 2003 server from my house on a busines class cable modem connection. I know squat about PHP and am not too keen on installing it. :(
     
    iShopHQ, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  16. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #116
    Its a very easy install, I urge you not to run the asp version as there is no support for it and it can lead to problems that lead to extra hassle and work for the DP server/Shawn, the PHP version is just a case of uploading a couple of files and adding the code to your asp pages, the link is in my post above. PM me if you try it and have problems.
     
    sji2671, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  17. schlottke

    schlottke Peon

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    63
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #117
    There havent been any previous problems with the asp version, have there?
     
    schlottke, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  18. sji2671

    sji2671 Self Made Mind

    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    144
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    170
    #118
    lol, oh yes, my main site had been blocked numerous times for making excessive calls to the DP server, its a high traffic site but you can hardly bank against your site doing well by running the asp version, it has caused numerous problems with every asp version that I have tried and none have worked on it for more than a few weeks.

    If you have a low traffic site this may never be a problem, but its hardly a long term game plan so best use the new php version with the work around to display it on an asp based site, you have been warned, I think I have tested Shawn patience to the limit unblocking me and you dont want to run an un-supported version.
     
    sji2671, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  19. LindaB

    LindaB Peon

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #119
    I'm a little bit confused, Shaun. On your post that started this thread you said:

    Now I took that to mean that we have a choice as to whether to update or not. But later posts make it sound as if we are required to. I didn't get any kind of email explaining this, though I've heard that others have.

    So which is it? Are we required to change, or can we continue using the old code? This is a really big deal to me because I have a lot of sites I'll have to change a page at a time.

    Linda
     
    LindaB, Apr 4, 2005 IP
  20. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,333
    Likes Received:
    2,613
    Best Answers:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #120
    At some point you will need to change, but it's not required immediately.
     
    digitalpoint, Apr 4, 2005 IP