1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

About to buy a new desktop... give me a push

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kerosene, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. #1
    I'm running a (vintage!) Athlon 2500+ with 2GB RAM, and have finally decided that it's time to buy myself a new desktop.

    I don't have the time (or desire) to spend a month researching components, so I'm just going to go out and buy a prebuilt system.

    I could buy a cheapy full of generic parts, but I'm not going to.

    What is your opinion on this:

    [​IMG]

    $1199 AUD
    - Intel Core i5 760
    - Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3 Motherboard
    - Corsair CMV4GX3M2A1333C9 4GB (2x 2Gb) (1333MHz)
    - Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB 7200RPM Hard Drive
    - ATI Radeon HD5770 1GB (HIS)
    - 24x Internal DVD±RW Drive
    - Zalman Z7 Plus Mid Tower Case Black
    - Antec Neo 520W Power Supply
    - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit OEM
     
    Kerosene, Oct 29, 2010 IP
  2. DP.rebellion

    DP.rebellion Peon

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    average but if you are going for desktop assembling it yourself should be the best choice..
     
    DP.rebellion, Oct 29, 2010 IP
  3. Tankwan

    Tankwan Peon

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    this good !nice
     
    Tankwan, Oct 30, 2010 IP
  4. kevin.truong

    kevin.truong Banned

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    i think you should choise Ram 8Gb for a best .You can play every game you want without worry
     
    kevin.truong, Oct 30, 2010 IP
  5. mcfox

    mcfox Wind Maker

    Messages:
    7,528
    Likes Received:
    715
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Don't do it! Well, not if you are going to try to run WindowsXP programs on it, that is. Minimum requirement on the OS to run XP programs in 'xp mode' is Windows 7 Professional.
     
    mcfox, Nov 1, 2010 IP
  6. linksellerpro1

    linksellerpro1 Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    If you looking for high performance pc go for DELL XPS- but it is costly.
     
    linksellerpro1, Nov 1, 2010 IP
  7. Kerosene

    Kerosene Alpha & Omega™ Staff

    Messages:
    11,353
    Likes Received:
    558
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    335
    #7
    I've decided to STOP, think about it for 5 minutes, and build it myself.
    I'm aiming for a VERY quiet computer, that I can use for coding, and occasional Photoshop/InDesign/After Effects work (no gaming, no 3D).

    Here's the new shopping list:

    Case: Fractal Design Define R3
    CPU: Intel Core i5 760
    HSF: Scythe Mugen 2 Cooler Rev B
    MOBO: Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3
    PSU: Seasonic X-400 (fanless)
    GPU: HIS ATI Radeon HD5450 Silence 1GB (fanless)
    RAM: 8GB Corsair CMX8GX3M2A1333C9 (2x4GB) DDR3
    HDD: A quiet 1TB 7200... still to be decided

    @mcfox - I'll probably dual boot Windows 7 Ultimate and Linux Mint. Thankfully I came to my senses before jumping into buying a prebuilt system with a bundled version of Home Premium.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2010
    Kerosene, Nov 2, 2010 IP
    Halobitt likes this.
  8. mcfox

    mcfox Wind Maker

    Messages:
    7,528
    Likes Received:
    715
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    Glad to hear you're going for the self build. :)

    I too, went for a quiet pc build. What a huge difference it makes not having that helicopter coming in for a landing! I found this website incredibly useful and I think they supply your part of the world too. :)

    I went for the Noctua cooling fan and the Nesteq E2CS X-Strike 600W Ultra-Quiet PSU but I'm thinking a fanless PSU must be quieter than that. :)

    Protip: sort out the cooling fan mounts before you put the m/b in *cough*
     
    mcfox, Nov 2, 2010 IP
    Kerosene likes this.
  9. Kerosene

    Kerosene Alpha & Omega™ Staff

    Messages:
    11,353
    Likes Received:
    558
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    335
    #9
    :rolleyes:

    Thanks for your input.
     
    Kerosene, Nov 2, 2010 IP
  10. LauraSmith

    LauraSmith Peon

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    I'm puzzled why you never considered a mac. For coding, Photoshop, InDesign and After Effects, mac is your best candidate. Get an iMac. Its as quiet as it can be. Minus all the wires that messes up your table.
     
    LauraSmith, Nov 3, 2010 IP
  11. love**

    love** Peon

    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Please first check out your
    requirement.Then on the basis
    of it you should buy laptop.
     
    love**, Nov 3, 2010 IP
  12. bi_a_op

    bi_a_op Peon

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    Don't use stock cpu cooler.
     
    bi_a_op, Nov 3, 2010 IP
  13. Kerosene

    Kerosene Alpha & Omega™ Staff

    Messages:
    11,353
    Likes Received:
    558
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    335
    #13
    This thread keeps getting better and better.
     
    Kerosene, Nov 5, 2010 IP
  14. Kerosene

    Kerosene Alpha & Omega™ Staff

    Messages:
    11,353
    Likes Received:
    558
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    335
    #14
    Delivered!

    I bit the bullet and went for an SSD and fanless PSU.

    Fractal Design Define R3
    i5 760
    CM Hyper 212 Plus + Nexus Real Silent PWM
    Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3
    8GB Corsair CMX8GX3M2A1333C9
    Seasonic X-460 PSU (fanless)
    HIS HD5450 Silence (fanless)
    OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD
    SpinPoint F3 1TB HDD

    Can't wait to put it all together. Well.. actually I can. And will.

    [​IMG]
     
    Kerosene, Nov 19, 2010 IP
  15. aksrocks69

    aksrocks69 Guest

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    wow a nice configurations is their man

    congrats
     
    aksrocks69, Nov 19, 2010 IP
  16. Kerosene

    Kerosene Alpha & Omega™ Staff

    Messages:
    11,353
    Likes Received:
    558
    Best Answers:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    335
    #16
    All done.
    Currently setting up Windows 7, and migrating all my junk over to the new drives. Glad I went with an SSD. Pity I can't (won't) use TrueCrypt full disk encryption on it though... but I'm sure I'll work something out.

    The R3 cable management is a winner.
    I've got it running 1 very slow exhaust fan, and 1 very slow CPU fan, it's Q.U.I.E.T :D

    [​IMG]
     
    Kerosene, Nov 24, 2010 IP
  17. mcfox

    mcfox Wind Maker

    Messages:
    7,528
    Likes Received:
    715
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Sweet! :) Looks like a beast.
     
    mcfox, Nov 24, 2010 IP
  18. b4rc0d3

    b4rc0d3 Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    #18
    BitLocker use instead. Heard that's good piece of code.
     
    b4rc0d3, Nov 24, 2010 IP
  19. Cheeploock

    Cheeploock Member

    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    #19
    Hopefully it will get better again and many are interested to see read

     
    Cheeploock, Nov 26, 2010 IP
  20. supdoggy

    supdoggy Peon

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    I've got the Hyper 212 plus too! However, you do know that it can work in push-pull configuration right? I've got a Noctua NF-P12 working with the stock fan running atm.
     
    supdoggy, Dec 16, 2010 IP