1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

A little rant about new coders...

Discussion in 'HTML & Website Design' started by PoPSiCLe, Nov 21, 2016.

Okay. I frequent this forum, and have started frequenting parts of Stack as well, just to "broaden my horizon" (and the fact that this forum doesn't feel as active anymore). I like to help people with their troubles with HTML, CSS and PHP, and hopefully learn something in the process.

But, what I don't get is the seemingly utter lack of knowledge by the people asking for help. Maybe it's just me, but when I started coding HTML, about 13-14 years ago (probably more, I have no concept of time, really), I read and read and searched and searched, bought books, and so on, before even trying my first page. And when something didn't work as expected, I tried and tried over and over, before trying to find help - back then, mostly via Usenet.

Today, it seems they watch a video on YT, tries, fails, and yells for help. They have absolutely no understanding of what they're doing, doesn't put in any effort at all, and basically just wants someone to fix it for them. Not to mention those taking a "HTML-class"... WHY in all that is holy, don't they have any checks for these classes? People with no clue about computers shouldn't start coding, even if it's something as simple as HTML/CSS.

Yes, I am a grumpy old man, by all means. But I except at least a minimum of effort put in, before you cry for help. And if you do cry for help, please provide some code? Not an image of what you dream it should look like, or a poor description of the problem (more often than not using terms and descriptions that has nothing to do with the actual problem at hand).