1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

8 Tips to Becoming a RICHER Freelance Writer

Discussion in 'Copywriting' started by Ray P., Sep 30, 2007.

I've been a freelance writer for 3 years. Now, I'm semi retired, having taken an in house Web editor position for a new Web 2.0 startup launching this winter. I'd like to give writers on here 8 tips on becoming a more powerful, richer freelance writer that have helped me out a lot.

1.Break out of the mold

Too many writers are on here willing to work for cheap rates without seeing what is beyond the horizon. $1.00 for 100 words is highway robbery. If you want to work for these rates, fine. There is a huge market for this, and a high volume of this type of work can earn you some money, but unless you're in a third world country, you are wasting your time alongside other writers making $100 per 700 word article.

2. Diversify

Digitalpoint is hands down the best "cheap writing services" forum I've come across. You don't want 90% of your clients through here. Go through other sources like private message boards, mediabistro, etc.

3. Fix your samples

99% of samples I see look like they came from PLR sources. Private label rights articles are generic, boring, and the biggest scam to hit the "article industry" I've ever seen. It encourages people to get lazy with their content. Read your sample and ask yourself if it reads something like this ...

"Gardening is an art form. Much attention should be paid to watering your plants, giving it the right temperature, and care."