1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

64 bit vs 32 bit

Discussion in 'Bing' started by texanweb, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. ThaSalesman

    ThaSalesman Peon

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #41
    64 Bit
    -Allows for more "Business/Enterprise" solutions
    -Allows 4GB+ Ram to be uses
    -Great for Servers
    SEMrush
    However, you may find problems for older software although that can't be said for new applications as more software companies design products for both 32 and 64 bit architectures.
     
    ThaSalesman, Mar 27, 2010 IP
    SEMrush
  2. NickM

    NickM Peon

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #42
    New processors fully support 64bit OS. Almost all Core2 support 64bit.

    Take a look for specifications on intel website
     
    NickM, Mar 28, 2010 IP
  3. crazeann

    crazeann Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #43
    not supporting 64bit hardware is too old hardware...you may consider to sell them...
     
    crazeann, Mar 29, 2010 IP
  4. pssajit

    pssajit Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    #44
    No you cannot run a 64 bit OS on a 32 bit processor. But the reverse is true that you can run a 32 bit OS on a 64 bit processor (as most of the 64 bit processors available now is the x64 processors which support both 32 bit and 64 bit OSes). Once you upgrade to a 64 bit OS (obviously on a x64 processor), you can install most of the 32 Bit applications too because the 32 bit applications work on a x64 OS/x64 processor on a simulation mode. But none of the 32 bit drivers will work on a x64 OS. That means if you have a printer that only has 32 bit drivers, then you cannot install that on a x64 OS (like the Windows 7 64 bit OS). That is because the 32 bit simulation does not work with the kernel drivers (it work only with the 32 bit applications which do not have kernel drivers).

    Intel has both x64 Processors and Itanium processors. The x64 Processors support both 32 and 64 it OSses. But the Itanium processor is a pure 64 bit processor which strictly supports only 64 bit OSes. Good thing is that the Itanium processor is srtictly a server processor.
     
    pssajit, Apr 11, 2010 IP
  5. polishseller

    polishseller Peon

    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #45
    I am using 32 bit version because with 64 bit i have too much problems - not every aplication work on it, hardware problems. Regards
     
    polishseller, Apr 11, 2010 IP
  6. shivendrajha

    shivendrajha Peon

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #46
    64 is too good than it
     
    shivendrajha, Apr 13, 2010 IP
  7. brudawson

    brudawson Member

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    #47
    32-bit processors, meaning that they can process 32 binary instructions per clock cycle. 64-bit systems can process twice as many instructions per second as a comparable 32-bit system, 64-bit systems are definitely faster than their 32-bit. The most significant difference between a 32-bit and a 64-bit system is the amount of memory that they support. The fact that 32-bit systems only have 32-bits of data to work with means that they can only address up to 4 GB of RAM. On the other hand 64-bit system could theoretically address up to 16 exabytes of RAM (16,000,000 GB of RAM).
     
    brudawson, Apr 22, 2010 IP
  8. checkblog

    checkblog Peon

    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    5
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #48
    He is right. Well this depend upon bus data bit size.
     
    checkblog, Apr 23, 2010 IP
  9. kicks4us23

    kicks4us23 Peon

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #49
    32bit for now..
     
    kicks4us23, Apr 23, 2010 IP
  10. texanweb

    texanweb Active Member

    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #50
    OK... heres an update. Since I can get a HUGE HUGE discount on software through my college, I went ahead and purchase the 64bit. It wont be the first and it won't be the last time that I just blow money away. So, I just took a chance.

    Anyways, I installed Win 7 64bit and its been working just fine for me more than a month and half now. Below, is some detail info on my processor. As far as I can tell, its not 64bit processor, but I wanted to get some of yalls opinions.

     
    texanweb, Apr 28, 2010 IP
  11. clbyodo

    clbyodo Peon

    Messages:
    3,457
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #51
    64 bit is very good.
     
    clbyodo, May 1, 2010 IP
  12. dark143i

    dark143i Member

    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    #52
    Well according to me 32 Bit Rocks .
     
    dark143i, May 1, 2010 IP
  13. ibangalore

    ibangalore Peon

    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #53
    Well for business purpose i think 64 bit is good and for home 32 bit
     
    ibangalore, May 1, 2010 IP
  14. RuiGomes

    RuiGomes Peon

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #54
    If your processor supports it, install 64bit. It allows you to get more RAM
     
    RuiGomes, May 1, 2010 IP
  15. SomeStrangeGuy

    SomeStrangeGuy Peon

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #55
    32 bit allows you to use only 3.5 Gb of your memory and thats the limit, 64 bit for now is approved for systems with 4+ Gb memory
     
    SomeStrangeGuy, May 12, 2010 IP