1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

64 bit vs 32 bit

Discussion in 'Bing' started by texanweb, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. Traffic-Bug

    Traffic-Bug Active Member

    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    80
    #21
    64 bit programs cannot run on 32-bit processors. So you will need to upgrade your hardware first, to 64 bit processor and CPU mother board should support it etc. and then think about using 64 bit programs, 64 bit OS etc. First hardware support, then software support.
    SEMrush
     
    Traffic-Bug, Feb 28, 2010 IP
    SEMrush
  2. ghayas

    ghayas Peon

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #22
    I am using 64 and its much powerful than 32 and runs every application easly :)
     
    ghayas, Mar 2, 2010 IP
  3. Windows7Guy

    Windows7Guy Guest

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #23
    Hello Texanweb,

    You cannot run a 64bit OS on a 32bit Processor.

    Just a bit of FYI to understand the issues with 32-bit and 64-bit OS upgrades and later options that may or may not be available to you later:
    When upgrading from Windows Vista to Windows 7 you must upgrade the version currently installed within Windows Vista to the corresponding version in Windows 7. I.E. Windows Vista Home Premium to Windows 7 Home Premium; Windows Vista Business to Windows 7 Professional; and Windows Vista Ultimate to Windows 7 Ultimate. You also cannot upgrade a 32-bit operating system to 64-bit -- to migrate from 32-bit to 64-bit will require a custom install.

    The architecture between the two is too drastically different to allow such a change. To learn more about the differences between a 32-bit operating system and 64-bit please go to the following link: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/32-bit-and-64-bit-Windows-frequently-asked-questions

    I hope that helps you out!

    You can also find lots of information on Windows 7 here in our Springboard website:
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/default.aspx

    Thanks again,
    John M.
    Microsoft Windows Client Support
     
    Windows7Guy, Mar 3, 2010 IP
  4. karumi

    karumi Peon

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #24
    If you have 4Gb Ram and 64-bit CPU - buy 64-bit Windows 7.
    If you have 2 Gb Ram and 32-bit CPU - buy 32 bit Windows 7.
     
    karumi, Mar 4, 2010 IP
  5. Bilal Ahmad

    Bilal Ahmad Peon

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #25
    32 Bit means that we can only run 32 Bit Windows
     
    Bilal Ahmad, Mar 5, 2010 IP
  6. sczmajor

    sczmajor Peon

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #26
    Only problem with going from 32 Bit to 64 Bit is that you won't be able to use certain software, applications, and may have hardware issues. However, the speed it gives and the additional ram is well worth it if you ask me.
     
    sczmajor, Mar 7, 2010 IP
  7. www.petermoss.com

    www.petermoss.com Guest

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #27
    get a 64 bit CPU and a 64 bit OS. Windows 7 is one of the best workstation OS-es out of Microsoft.

    My 64 bit Windows 7 rarely uses more than 1.5 GB of memory that is with browsers and Office, web-server, Visual Studio, anti-virus all running at the same time.

    Like others said, I can run any win32 applications on my 64 bit OS.
     
    www.petermoss.com, Mar 9, 2010 IP
  8. killaklown

    killaklown Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    87
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #28
    considering his processor is 32bit, 64 would not be better for him since he wont be able to install it.

    lol, theres alot of people in here who think they know what they are talking about, but are actually completely wrong about it.
     
    killaklown, Mar 9, 2010 IP
  9. BizPhil

    BizPhil Member

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    #29
    if you want to have a serious machine you must have 64bit =)
     
    BizPhil, Mar 9, 2010 IP
  10. tercede

    tercede Active Member

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    85
    #30
    I sure would like to know more about this only 1.5 gb of memory and a screenshot. With normal stuff I am running 2.5 plus or minus...
     
    tercede, Mar 9, 2010 IP
  11. fireofwar

    fireofwar Peon

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #31
    64bit no doubt :)
     
    fireofwar, Mar 10, 2010 IP
  12. WebSurf

    WebSurf Peon

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #32
    32 bit and 64 bit are the terms referred for memory address bus capacity for a particular CPU.
    A 32-bit address register meant that 232 addresses, or 4 GB of RAM. While 64-bit architecture effectively increases the memory ceiling to 264 addresses, which breaks the barrier of 4 GB RAM addressing capacity.

    For a normal Home or Internet Surfing 32 bit is more than sufficient. but, 32 bit machine can not be operated on x64 bit OS.
    While 64-bit architectures mainly Corporate Servers working with large data sets in applications, and scientific computing. 64-bit machine can be operated either x64 bit or x32 bit OS.

    Generally x64 machines are faster than x32 bit in some applications, but practical test result shows they should not be regarded as twice faster than 32 bit machines. Choice between 64 bit and 32 bit depends on budget and application going to be run on machine.
     
    WebSurf, Mar 18, 2010 IP
  13. xiechuyu

    xiechuyu Peon

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #33
    64 bit also safer said by MS,and it need you have fit hardware.
     
    xiechuyu, Mar 23, 2010 IP
  14. kristain

    kristain Guest

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #34
    64 bit has more RAM than the 32 bit. It is better to have 64 bit OS.
     
    kristain, Mar 23, 2010 IP
  15. Cloud Computing Forum

    Cloud Computing Forum Guest

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #35
    32 Bit operating systems are inherently limited in the amount of memory they can access. A 32 bit machine can access 2 to the power of 32 bytes of memory (4,294,967,296bytes, 4GB). This means that if you want to utilize more than 4GB of system memory you need to switch to 64bit.

    64bit systems can access 2 to the power of 64 bytes of memory, which is more than anyone is going to need for some time.

    I'm running a 64bit machine and a 32bit machine, I find that most programs run fine on both machines with Windows 7.

    CentOS offers both 32bit and 64bit versions for Linux users looking for a good 64bit OS.
     
    Cloud Computing Forum, Mar 23, 2010 IP
  16. 5867dude

    5867dude Peon

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #36
    32 bit is the only option for you sadly.
    However you can upgrade your processor, and 64 bit processors starting at just £30 there is no reason not too. 64 bit allows you to use 4GB or more of RAM, whereas a 32 bit OS has a 'ceiling' of 4GB of RAM (ie. You can only use up-to 4GB of RAM)
    However you don't need 4GB of RAM or higher for 64 bit Operating Systems.
     
    5867dude, Mar 23, 2010 IP
  17. indodistro

    indodistro Peon

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #37
    u need 64bit platform to be more powerful
     
    indodistro, Mar 24, 2010 IP
  18. rapidshare88

    rapidshare88 Peon

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #38
    32bit is good man maybe evan better :)
     
    rapidshare88, Mar 27, 2010 IP
  19. critiano

    critiano Guest

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #39
    If memory is 4gh, you should use 64 bit. And you want to buy windows 7, you can contact me. i can help you save your money. Email:
    Windows Ultimate only $60
     
    critiano, Mar 27, 2010 IP
  20. Adinosway

    Adinosway Peon

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #40
    Apart from from the graphics, what is really other benefits of 64 bits system
     
    Adinosway, Mar 27, 2010 IP