1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

500 Internal server error (Wordpress)

Discussion in 'Site & Server Administration' started by Efsane 66, May 5, 2017.

  1. #1
    Hi,

    I often get the 500 internal server error message on my site insanevisions.com.

    When I refresh the page one more time, it works fine again :s

    [Fri May 05 01:52:11.526356 2017] [:error] [pid 304782:tid 140548937557760] (12)Cannot allocate memory: [client 66.249.79.168:32970] couldn't create child process: /usr/sbin/suphp for /home/efsaneyi/insanevisions.com/index.php
    [Fri May 05 01:52:11.522922 2017] [:error] [pid 304782:tid 140548937557760] (12)Cannot allocate memory: [client 66.249.79.168:32970] couldn't create child process: /usr/sbin/suphp for /home/efsaneyi/insanevisions.com/index.php
    [Fri May 05 01:51:28.455505 2017] [:error] [pid 293341:tid 140548996306688] (12)Cannot allocate memory: [client 77.92.158.116:57520] couldn't create child process: /usr/sbin/suphp for /home/efsaneyi/insanevisions.com/index.php
    [Fri May 05 01:51:28.451777 2017] [:error] [pid 293341:tid 140548996306688] (12)Cannot allocate memory: [client 77.92.158.116:57520] couldn't create child process: /usr/sbin/suphp for /home/efsaneyi/insanevisions.com/index.php
    [Fri May 05 01:51:16.753492 2017] [:error] [pid 293586:tid 140548979521280] (12)Cannot allocate memory: [client 105.229.77.112:61717] couldn't create child process: /usr/sbin/suphp for /home/efsaneyi/insanevisions.com/index.php, referer: http://www.insanevisions.com/what-type-of-pokies-game-suits-you
    [Fri May 05 01:51:16.749490 2017] [:error] [pid 293586:tid 140548979521280] (12)Cannot allocate memory: [client 105.229.77.112:61717] couldn't create child process: /usr/sbin/suphp for /home/efsaneyi/insanevisions.com/wp-admin/admin-ajax.php, referer: http://www.insanevisions.com/what-type-of-pokies-game-suits-you
    [Fri May 05 01:46:23.229668 2017] [:error] [pid 260616:tid 140548954343168] (12)Cannot allocate memory: [client 194.78.1.242:24582] couldn't create child process: /usr/sbin/suphp for /home/efsaneyi/insanevisions.com/index.php, referer: http://www.insanevisions.com/what-type-of-pokies-game-suits-you
    [Fri May 05 01:46:23.225531 2017] [:error] [pid 260616:tid 140548954343168] (12)Cannot allocate memory: [client 194.78.1.242:24582] couldn't create child process: /usr/sbin/suphp for /home/efsaneyi/insanevisions.com/wp-admin/post.php, referer: http://www.insanevisions.com/what-type-of-pokies-game-suits-you

    When I check my Cpanel I see this.

    How can I solve it please?
    SEMrush
     
    Efsane 66, May 5, 2017 IP
    SEMrush
  2. Efsane 66

    Efsane 66 Active Member

    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    4
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    78
    #2
    nobody?
     
    Efsane 66, May 5, 2017 IP
  3. GameO.Over

    GameO.Over Active Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #3
    Are you on shared hosting? This is something you should probably ask your host about... What is the current memory limit? How much traffic are you getting?

    If you have cPanel you may be able to check if you are maxing out your resource allowance. I know CloudLinux servers add resource stats in cPanel.

    I would guess it is in fact CloudLinux hitting your memory limit.

    You should look at ways you can optimise your WP installation or move to a VPS/better host.
     
    GameO.Over, May 5, 2017 IP
  4. PoPSiCLe

    PoPSiCLe Illustrious Member

    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes Received:
    725
    Best Answers:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    470
    #4
    You have an insanely weighty front page. With or without cache, it loads up at over half a MB on EACH LOAD - if you have a few visitors, that will quickly add up. You should definitely loook into optimizing your site quite a bit. Just as a comparison: my uncached dev-site loads in at 1.12 MB on first, unached load. After caching, it loads in at 98kB. That is less than 10% of the uncached, first load.
     
    PoPSiCLe, May 5, 2017 IP
  5. GameO.Over

    GameO.Over Active Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    65
    #5
    I just loaded it on a Retina display and I'm getting 20 console errors relating to images not found.

    You are using retina.js which detects hi-dpi/ppi displays and serves images that are twice the size to avoid blurring. You're not actually creating the retina versions of images so its giving me an error on every single image... Considering most modern smartphones use high res displays your website will be throwing lots of errors on each page load, which can add a small amount of overhead.

    Herein lies the problem with WordPress.. site owners don't even know what their website is doing. I suggest removing all the rubbish you don't use and optimise whats left. Failing that move to a better web host that won't cripple your site if it generates a lot of traffic.
     
    GameO.Over, May 5, 2017 IP
  6. Server rental bangalore

    Server rental bangalore Banned

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    #6
    I think you are so much active and uploading your database often. Contact your host and check once.
     
  7. RoseHosting

    RoseHosting Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    11
    Best Answers:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    138
    #7
    There are several potential causes for the 500 Internal server error problem in WordPress.

    If you have a VPS, or a dedicated server, make sure your server is not running out of RAM. You can check this by running the following command:

    free -m

    If you have cPanel installed on your server, it could be a problem with memory limits imposed in the Apache configuration file. If so, try removing the 'RLimitMEM' line in the httpd.conf file, and restart Apache for the changes to take effect.

    If the problem is solved, run:

    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/apache_conf_distiller --update

    to preserve the change.
     
    RoseHosting, Jun 17, 2017 IP
  8. no69_2007

    no69_2007 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    #8
    Cannot allocate memory <--- Your server is not able to fork a php process, due to which frontend web server returns this error.

    All you need to have is more memory (Ram)
     
    no69_2007, Jun 17, 2017 IP
  9. webhost.uk.net

    webhost.uk.net Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    8
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    128
    #9
    Yes Rlimit is the best solution as even if you increase memory still the error will occur after sometime. In other case you also need to check if your theme is well optimized.
     
    webhost.uk.net, Jun 17, 2017 IP