1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

3D WebGL based engine for web browser (free beta)

Discussion in 'JavaScript' started by Aexol, Nov 21, 2014.

Hi guys,

I am a mobile developer and I am currently working on a multiplatform game engine. In general the idea behind is:

"One code, many platforms"

The engine should be ready by the end of the year. It will allow users ultra fast coding for many platforms such as Android, iOS, Mac, Linux, Windows (PS4 in the future) with Python or C++.

Meanwhile I have published a WebGL based web version on my engine working on Safari, Chrome & Mozilla (javascript). What do you think about this engine? What are you general expectations? What can I do better? How can I make coding faster, better experience for devs? Free engine downloadable here: http://gl.aexol.com/engine/web/

It would be awesome to hear some feedback from you guys! Take care!

Aexol, Nov 21, 2014 IP
  2. deathshadow

deathshadow Acclaimed Member

Best Answers:
    It's a shame webgl's performance is so abysmal; though that's just the nature of it at this point given that JavaScript just is a really crappy language for doing this stuff -- that's not your fault though.

I like what I'm seeing, though I was at first thinking the examples were needlessly complicated and convoluted, turned out I just wasn't seeing the comma's from the lack of whitespace. The example code is very unclear due to a lack of good formatting habits -- but once I added a few carriage returns and tabs it seems to do a decent job of implementing a lot of the "grunt work" that webGL kind-of leaves you without.