1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

301 redirect, please help

Discussion in 'C#' started by atiqi36, Dec 19, 2006.

  1. #1
    Hi,

    I want to move one of websites to a new domain. All the website is in ASP and I am getting good traffic as well. But for some reasons I have to change the domain. Could you please help me out with 301 redirect as I don't want to get penalised from google.

    Also how shall I change the back links to point to new domain? I mean all at once or slowly?
    SEMrush
    Thanks
     
    atiqi36, Dec 19, 2006 IP
    SEMrush
  2. krakjoe

    krakjoe Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    141
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    135
    #2
    by using the 301 flag, your forcing (not just) google to update thier cache, and by providing a forwarding link you're giving it something to update too.

    I'd do it all at once, and I'd do it with :

    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/ [R=301,L]

    or more likely :

    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]
     
    krakjoe, Dec 19, 2006 IP
  3. intothemiddle

    intothemiddle Peon

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    <%@ Language=VBScript %>
    <%
    Response.Status="301 Moved Permanently"
    Response.AddHeader("Location", "http://www.yourdomain.com")
    %>
     
    intothemiddle, Feb 1, 2007 IP
  4. usrecord

    usrecord Peon

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    I think this is for IIS server. So where should I put this code? I have also a site that I will redirect to new one but it's in IIS server hosting.
     
    usrecord, Feb 4, 2011 IP
  5. ca4nul

    ca4nul Active Member

    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    73
    #5
    you actually have to write it in code behind
     
    ca4nul, Feb 7, 2011 IP
  6. AstarothSolutions

    AstarothSolutions Peon

    Messages:
    2,681
    Likes Received:
    77
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    Alternatively you can put code into the global.asa file to deal with all requests; if you look on here the .Net version was given recently and it shouldnt take much to back that up to Classic ASP
     
    AstarothSolutions, Feb 8, 2011 IP
  7. DmitryS

    DmitryS Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    53
    #7
    use Halicon SPI for 301 redirect.

    in webmaster tool change domain address.
     
    DmitryS, Feb 14, 2011 IP