1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

301 Redirect and Google

Discussion in 'Apache' started by ResaleBroker, Aug 16, 2004.

  1. #1
    I recently added a 301 redirect to my .htaccess file for my index page.
    SEMrush
    Googles cache results for the index page "were" being updated every other day.

    Now the cache results show a page from 2 weeks back and haven't changed for more than a week.

    How long do you think it will take before Google starts showing this redirect?

    Thanks!
     
    ResaleBroker, Aug 16, 2004 IP
    SEMrush
  2. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #2
    What are you redirecting to? The page you are redirecting from will disappear from the index altogether at some point.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  3. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #3
    ResaleBroker, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  4. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #4
    digitalpoint, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  5. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #5
    ResaleBroker, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  6. digitalpoint

    digitalpoint Overlord of no one Staff

    Messages:
    38,297
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    Best Answers:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    710
    Digital Goods:
    29
    #6
    The cache is old because there is no such page anymore. As I mentioned, at some point that page will disappear from the index altogether.
     
    digitalpoint, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  7. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #7
    I don't mind if the index page dissappears as long as any page rank that index page had transfers to the new page.
     
    ResaleBroker, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  8. Old Welsh Guy

    Old Welsh Guy Notable Member

    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    291
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    #8
    The redirect will kick in right away, but the Page rank normally take one, or sometimes 2 PR/B updates to kick in. Yahoo on the other hand is crap at handling 301's ;)
     
    Old Welsh Guy, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  9. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #9
    On a similar vein...
    How do I configure mod_rewrite to change "any" instance of;

    listingview...
    to
    real-estate-listings/listingview...

    Thanks!
     
    ResaleBroker, Aug 16, 2004 IP
  10. Owlcroft

    Owlcroft Peon

    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    34
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Which is a colossal pain in the, ah, elbow, and seems grossly unfair. Does anyone have any idea of why G does things this way? It must be the commonest thing for people to re-organize sites, or break out what was a sub-site into its own domain. Why is there this bizarre delay in equating the new with the old? (It just kills me: I had a single page of one site that was #1 for its term, moved it to a new site of its own, even added in some other pages, and the whole thing vanishes without a trace of either old or new in the SERPs; had another "sub-site" that was #8/#9 for its term, same story; and this has happened before. Sure, in the fullness of time they return, but WHY this maddening and needless dropout period?)

    I assume from the ellipsis mark that there would be text following listingview that you would want passed on. If so, I believe this would do it:

    RewriteRule listingview(.*)$ http://www.real-estate-listings.com/listingview($1) [L,R=301]
     
    Owlcroft, Aug 17, 2004 IP
  11. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #11
    Hello Eric,
    Thank you for the help. If I can get this to work I won't have to redirect the index page and can avoid any hassle that comes with doing that.

    The URL's that I want to redirect look like this:

    • http://www.resalebroker.com/listingview.php?listingID=2

    I need the URL's to look like this
    • http://www.resalebroker.com/real-estate-listings/listingview.php?listingID=2

    I tried the rewrite you suggested but it isn't working. Any ideas?

    Thanks again,
     
    ResaleBroker, Aug 17, 2004 IP
  12. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #12
    I played around with the code you provided and this "almost" works. The only thing wrong is it is leaving off the .php in the second instance.

    • RewriteRule listingview.php(.*)$ http://www.resalebroker.com/real-estate-listings/listingview$1 [L,R=301]
    Outputs:
    http://www.resalebroker.com/real-estate-listings/listingview()?listingID=2

    Thanks for the help!
     
    ResaleBroker, Aug 17, 2004 IP
  13. ResaleBroker

    ResaleBroker Active Member

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    50
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #13
    I finally figured it out. The code that works is:

    RewriteRule ^listingview* http://www.resalebroker.com/real-estate-listings/listingview.php$1 [L,R=301]

    Thanks everyone. I appreciate it!
     
    ResaleBroker, Aug 19, 2004 IP