1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

16 clicks but not even a single one from Yahoo!

Discussion in 'Yahoo Search Marketing' started by andrej, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. #1
    I have a campaign running already for 2 days and have received 16 clicks. However, when I check the traffic stats in my CPanel, I don't see any traffic coming from Yahoo.com. Most of the clicks come from parked domain names, what I don't like, as I believe this traffic is not quality for my niche.

    I have 2 clicks from TossekA.com, 1 from Munky.com and 1 from searchengine.com but the rest is all just from parked domain names.

    I have the content match feature switched off and I target my ads for the US only.

    I'd like Yahoo.com traffic only, as I think it's the best quality traffic from YSM.
    SEMrush
     
    andrej, Sep 8, 2007 IP
    SEMrush
  2. SEO Jeff

    SEO Jeff Active Member

    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    17
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #2
    I would say contact YSM support. I know I've heard this story before and there system is not that great as far as targetting.
     
    SEO Jeff, Sep 8, 2007 IP
  3. andrej

    andrej Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    130
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    220
    #3
    Well, I already did. Here's their reply:

    24 clicks today since the start of my campaign and only one of them is from Yahoo.
     
    andrej, Sep 9, 2007 IP
  4. napoleonfirst

    napoleonfirst Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    143
    #4
    You must desable your content match option.
     
    napoleonfirst, Sep 9, 2007 IP
  5. tvmatt

    tvmatt Peon

    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    33
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    Did you read the message above? Here's Yahoo's response:
    So much for reading...

    Anyway, the quality of traffic that tends to come from those pages is usually pretty good - the user was looking for something related to your keywords. Raise your bid, and you'll probably show on Yahoo searches more often (unless there's almost no volume to those keywords).
     
    tvmatt, Sep 22, 2007 IP
    andrej likes this.
  6. schmeetz

    schmeetz Active Member

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #6
    i just contacted Yahoo about a similar issue.

    80% of the traffic i get is from made for yahoo adver websites. Traffic i get from these sites bounce right off my site..booosheeeta! Utter waste of money. Thieves!!!

    This is not content match cause i have that disabled. I asked Yahoo if i could only participate in Yahoo search results. No response yet.
     
    schmeetz, Sep 23, 2007 IP
  7. andrej

    andrej Notable Member

    Messages:
    3,211
    Likes Received:
    130
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    220
    #7
    I asked them the same. Here's their response:

     
    andrej, Sep 23, 2007 IP
  8. schmeetz

    schmeetz Active Member

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    7
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    #8
    That's so unethical.

    They feed off the inexperienced advertisers who sign up and dont follow stats. That's just pathetic.

    Don't think i'm going to continue with Yahoo for much longer.
     
    schmeetz, Sep 23, 2007 IP
  9. SeoGrr

    SeoGrr Active Member

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    #9
    I had the same issue with Yahoo last October (as far as I remember). It doesn't make any change with or without content match. I just stopped buying traffic from Yahoo. It doesn't make any sence paying that much for low quality traffic.
     
    SeoGrr, Sep 24, 2007 IP
  10. babarpapa

    babarpapa Peon

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    This is a bit late as I came to this thread via serps.

    There is a semi-solution as long as you don't have an extensive set of unrelated keywords. You can add the domains which are serving up your ads to the blocked domains list in the administration panel in YSM.
     
    babarpapa, Feb 8, 2008 IP
  11. callumchapman1991

    callumchapman1991 Guest

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I hate yahoo :)
     
    callumchapman1991, Feb 8, 2008 IP