1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

    Advertising (learn more)

    Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

    Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

0 backlinks in Google Webmaster Tools, Plus PR Drop

Discussion in 'Google' started by d2002, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. #1
    One of my websites right now is showing 0 internal/external backlinks in Google Webmaster Tools.

    However, when I do a "link:" search in Google, I still get about 1000 results. Yahoo is showing 55,000 links for the entire domain.

    Our PR has dropped from 6 to 3 (probably permanently, since we are showing 3s across all datacenters).

    Our referral traffic from Google decreased a bit (dropped about 15%) but that could just be a daily fluctuation.

    What does a 0 in webmaster tools mean? :(
     
    d2002, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  2. ForgottenCreature

    ForgottenCreature Notable Member

    Messages:
    7,421
    Likes Received:
    163
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    210
    #2
    How were you building your backlinks? If yahoo is showing the backlinks, then google needs to update.
     
    ForgottenCreature, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  3. d2002

    d2002 Peon

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #3
    All our links are organic. We never purchased links. :)

    The last time I checked Webmaster Tools (a few days ago), Google was showing 70,000 external links and 80,000 internal links.
     
    d2002, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  4. christian231

    christian231 Active Member

    Messages:
    1,509
    Likes Received:
    86
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    90
    #4
    All of my sites are the same. I have hundreds showing in Yahoo...but none showing for Google. I don't know how Google views backlinks, but it must be different from all the other SE's.
     
    christian231, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  5. Adulu

    Adulu Peon

    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    43
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #5
    That's impossible 0 backlink, google have to update your site
     
    Adulu, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  6. rbleyer

    rbleyer Active Member Premium Member

    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    38
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    #6
    I am seeing the same thing for my sites that have been hit hard in PR drop - 0 backlinks in webmaster tools!!! - Geezz - I never sell links on any of my sites also.
     
    rbleyer, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  7. rbleyer

    rbleyer Active Member Premium Member

    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    38
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    #7
    I am seeing in other sites in Web master tools, that they have 1000s of links still showing - Geezz - I hope it doesnt mean that our sites are headed for a big boot out :(

    Im scared!
     
    rbleyer, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  8. pbruessow@msn.com

    pbruessow@msn.com Active Member

    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    44
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    #8
    Just prior to this last PR update, I got the same thing. I think they must be working on your site's rank/backlinks. Give it a day or two.
     
    pbruessow@msn.com, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  9. d2002

    d2002 Peon

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    Thanks for the advice and moral support guys. :)

    I hope this means Google isn't done with my site's PR update. In the last couple of days my PR has been jumping between 3-4-5 throughout all datacenters.

    Now it is just a 3 and 0 backlinks. Is it possible that my PR will change yet again, or is the fact that all datacenters are showing 3s mean we are stuck with 3s. :(
     
    d2002, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  10. Baby0608

    Baby0608 Peon

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    Weird you have 0 internal/external links but has 1000 links when typing "link:domain.com" in google. When did you create the account in webmaster tool and when did you put the code?
     
    Baby0608, Oct 30, 2007 IP
  11. d2002

    d2002 Peon

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    I've verified my website with Webmaster Tools 3-4 months ago. Usually the link numbers have been steadily going up, not down.
     
    d2002, Oct 31, 2007 IP
  12. seoz87

    seoz87 Peon

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    seoz87, Oct 31, 2007 IP
  13. billybw

    billybw Peon

    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    25
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    This happened to me a few days ago, but now everything is back to normal. I think Google is updating some of its databases and this causes temporary problems.
     
    billybw, Oct 31, 2007 IP
  14. emaccenti

    emaccenti Guest

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #14
    same problem for me recently, but it fixed in a few days... just wait and don't worry too much.
     
    emaccenti, Oct 31, 2007 IP
  15. Zanswer

    Zanswer Peon

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    3
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    One of my sites now shows total number of links, but no actual link to display in webmaster tools. Just an update I think.
     
    Zanswer, Oct 31, 2007 IP
  16. d2002

    d2002 Peon

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    Whew, thanks guys, I feel much better. :)

    For the kind folks who went through the same update, did Google increase or decrease your number of links after the update? Did they raise your PR as well?
     
    d2002, Oct 31, 2007 IP