1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

My Experience with PHPizabi...

Discussion in 'Content Management' started by will2power, Aug 28, 2007.

Let me start by saying that I ran a Phpizabi site for two years. In my opinion, it has the best out of the box look and feel of all the social networking scripts I've used. For what I was doing, it did the job well and I was able to do some modifications with it, without a lot of difficulty.

I am not a programmer. I know about PHP, but I don't write scripts for it.

I do know this. PHPizabi is a resource hog. Despite its appearance, as you gather users, its going to slow down.

For those of you who may be considering it, then if your ambitions are small, and you intend to have a small community--be my guest. I don't think you'll be hurt in any way trying to use it.

However, if you are going to have more than just a few users this is what you are in for.

There are two factions of PHPizabi

.NET and .COM, or rather http://www.phpizabi.net and http://www.phpizabi.com

It was started by these two guys who had a falling out, and are now battling for Izabi in court, as I understand.

The .NET Community is run by the programmer who did all the work. The thing of it is, he had a falling out with the owner of the .COM site and removed his access to the site and all. The guy who owns the .COM Site, is not really a programmer, just the guy with the idea.

They've had their falling out over a year ago. Since that time, they managed to come out with the Alicia version of PHPizabi, which to be fair --is still technically a beta. Version .848 C1 is the current version if memory serves.