1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How and why did you start writing?

Discussion in 'Copywriting' started by mspennylane, Sep 6, 2008.

Hi everyone,
    I'm relatively new to this but have enjoyed reading the discussions here including the advice and stories from many different types of writers. I'm sure you've all explained this before - but for the purposes of this thread I wanted to ask you all how and why you all started writing? What did you write, how hard were you working, were you earning much to begin with...?

The reason I ask is that I have recently started writing for buyers here on DP. I have recently graduated from uni in the UK and am waiting to decide what I want from my life and I thought I'd give it a go in between jobs. I already write in blogs etc and really enjoy doing so.

I didn't really know what to expect from these jobs, so I have been charging cheap rates and I feel I am probably offering quality above the expected level for those rates. I have, however, earned a decent income for the amount of work I have been doing and, although I just started to see how it went, I'm now seriously looking into this and seeing where I can take it.

I would love to hear your stories, working up from the bottom etc, how you found working for yourself. It's so interesting and so many people love what they do I would love to hear from you!

mspennylane, Sep 6, 2008 IP
    jhmattern likes this.
  2. kiteguy123

kiteguy123 Guest

Best Answers: