1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

How to Get A Niche Site Known

Discussion in 'General Marketing' started by GlowStormLion, Jun 16, 2008.

Thanks for taking a look at this thread. I'm a writer/half-of-the-design-team of Happy Horror and we started off rockily with next to no budget back in 2006. Initially we'd planned to blog about horror movies and tokusatsu/sentai. We had no advertising back then and only used free services and techniques to get known. There were great big chunks of time where the blog didn't get updated but somehow it's managed to get a PR 3 and is nearly below 1,000,000 in Alexa's rankings. According to Google Analytic's numbers we get maybe 70 uniques per day, but according to our WordPress plugin we get almost 1k uniques daily - that makes it difficult to say exactly what sort of traffic we get! However, we average 4-5k impressions for CJ and other affiliate banners we've got on the site.

In late April 2008 I initiated a massive overhaul of the site and we've upped our content production since then. Our main goal is to provide quality content which we define as entirely handwritten articles with a sharply personal style of writing. We're not going to top IMDB for info nor the other top ranked horror sites out there, so we strive to be as personal as possible. Yesterday I installed forums but no real traffic to them as of yet. If you're interested my my techniques and philosophy for building sites, I've written a (rather large) article about it that you can read if you'd like.