For instance, if the traffic estimator suggests I would get 255 clicks a day for a certain keyword at the highest budget and i assume a high conversion of 30% I can then times 255 clicks by 3.33 = 849 almost gaurenteed daily searches For a highly searched keyword it would be difficult to attain a 30% conversion on adwords right? So this would give me an slightly underestimated number of natural daily searches?
I assume conversion = click so a better assumption is 1% maybe 2 if the keyword is not so broad like dog CTR is probably 1% if that pink dog leash CTR is probably 2% - 5% but when i guesstimate I like to use 1% cause its usually really close so lets do some math to figure out CTR the math is clicks / impressions = CTR imp = x clicks = 255 CTR = 1% 255 / x = 0.01 to get impressions we need to divide each side by 255 (255/x) / 255 = 255 / 0.01 which leaves us with x = 25,550 so impressions equals 25,550 impressions for keyword search volume see, and you never though you would ever need high school math =)
I'm not sure your math is correct. Estimated searches x conversion rate would be less then the estimated daily searches, not more. A 30% conversion is possible, but not easy to achieve. A lot of different factors come into play here. Also the traffic estimator is not to be relied upon as it's rarely accurate.
you will never get as many clicks as the traffic estimator tool says. The behavior of the people has changed and they've become more resistant to clicking ads than before. And most of the times, it also depends on the quality score of your ad. I think the traffic estimator tool takes into account that you have a perfect quality score, which is not that easy to achieve for someone new to adwords.
Thanks for the info.. your math is better than mine I think it is quite accurate I'm starting to think that these results include the content network due to the high numbers ?
My math is accurate Impressions > Clicks > Conversion The formula above is to establish the number of impressions
You can get more clicks that the estimator says and your statement "The behavior of the people has changed and they've become more resistant to clicking ads than before" is completely false. The thing to remember with the estimator is it's just that - and estimator. If you're going to use it all, just use it as a gauge to get an idea of how much volume is out there compared to other terms. Trying to predict how many clicks you're going to get ahead of time - with any degree of accuracy - is an exercise in futility.