CPC too high to make campaign profitable - Do you have similar experience?

Discussion in 'Google AdWords' started by vitalcoaching, Dec 15, 2007.

  1. #1
    Hi,

    I know that the days of $0.05 clicks is long gone, but even accepting to bid $0.20 for most of my keywords is not enough. I sell $19 products and campaigns were quite profitable until 2 years ago with ROI ranging from 100% to 400%.

    Now, I would have to bid $0.20 to $0.80 for 80% of my keywords. Only a small fraction of keywords shows if I can bid up to $0.20. (conversion rate of 1% - product at $19 - easy math, right?)

    My first question is: how on earth do people manage to create profitable campaigns with such high CPC?

    Do you sell more expensive products or services on average?

    Do you achieve higher conversion rates?

    Do you bid less?

    What is your trick to get your campaigns to be profitable?

    Thanks! I am truly running out of ideas
     
    vitalcoaching, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  2. GuyFromChicago

    GuyFromChicago Permanent Peon

    Messages:
    6,728
    Likes Received:
    529
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #2
    You need better conversion rates...i'd look at the landing page and keyword selection.
     
    GuyFromChicago, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  3. bl4ckmaN^

    bl4ckmaN^ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,641
    Likes Received:
    60
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #3
    GuyFromChicago is right.

    You don't just need clicks, you need those clicks that convert into sales. Eventhough that bids are high, if you are bidding on the right keywords then you will still be profiting.

    All you need to do is find keywords that bring you sales and bid only on them.
     
    bl4ckmaN^, Dec 15, 2007 IP
    tanujdude91 likes this.
  4. cbogey88

    cbogey88 Peon

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #4
    Think relevancy. Your goal is not to maximize clicks. Your goal is to maximize relevant clicks. Traffic does nothing if it is not traffic that is going to make a purchase.
     
    cbogey88, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  5. sellerscentral

    sellerscentral Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,631
    Likes Received:
    26
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    158
    #5
    I think this thread is going to be filled with duplicate posts.
    Instead of reading what everyone else says - they just repeat as if they were saying something different.

    Goodluck!
     
    sellerscentral, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  6. cbogey88

    cbogey88 Peon

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #6
    It should be reiterated. People focus too much on traffic and not enough on relevancy. Try using DKI to get more clicks. Use common keywords in your adcopy and salescopy. The more bolding you have, the more clicks you'll get.

    Some niches are really saturated, in which case you either have to find other ways to promote, or other keyword variations to use. Try using the keyword tool here for some suggestions on keywords with less competition

    First search result in google organics under keyword tool - I'd give you a link, but I'm not allowed to yet... lol
     
    cbogey88, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  7. Masterful

    Masterful Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    28
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    140
    #7
    You need to think laterally to find cheaper, alternative, keywords. You also need to revise your landing page; 1% is quite disagreeable. Finding products which pay more than $19 is another suggestion, as is expanding into other, cheaper, PPC services.
     
    Masterful, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  8. ProAux

    ProAux Peon

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #8
    You may need to make use of more unique long-tail phrases in order to get the cpc down. The more unique they are, the cheaper they should be.

    However, be careful not to lose sight of relevancy.
     
    ProAux, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  9. vitalcoaching

    vitalcoaching Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #9
    A quick update and thanks for the replies. All info is useful to me right now, so please keep posting anything that comes to mind, ok?

    First, my keywords. Most of my keyphrases do contain already at least 3 words but yes, there is still room to find thousands more combinations of course.

    When I do expand into longer key phrases the amount of clicks becomes so low! For some of my products, I do already have around 6000 keyphrases all extremely targeted. And again 80% of these keyphrases require a bid ranging from $0.20 to $ 1.00. I would have to be in the 2% - 5% conversion rate just to come even.

    Is this the type of prices that you pay for your clicks?

    (PS: I am in the dating/personal development field - I have a product on break ups - keywords are like "How to get over her", Breakup recovery", etc which are all very targeted)

    Masterful, you say that 1% conversion rate is not good enough? What type of conversion rate do you get? What are other's experience? What type of conversion rate do you get?

    Thanks again
     
    vitalcoaching, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  10. vitalcoaching

    vitalcoaching Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #10
    can you expand a bit on this? DKI? Bolding?

    I am not familiar with these concepts. Thanks
     
    vitalcoaching, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  11. cbogey88

    cbogey88 Peon

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #11
    Hi, yea sure.

    First, if you notice the ads that come up when you enter a search into google, some are bolded right? The words that are bolded are the words that you have searched for exactly.

    The Adwords system has a feature that lets you dynamically insert keywords that people search for.

    To better explain, say I typed in "Buy Playstation3," just for example's sake. Well if you had DKI set up in your adcopy, and you have ad adgroup set up for this, then any keyword in your adgroup will trigger the DKI.

    So no matter what you have in your adcopy otherwise, your ad will say Buy Playstation3 in bold letters. People are way more likely to click on their ad if it says EXACTLY what they enter.

    Also, if the search term they enter is too long (longer than the 25 char limit), you will enter a phrase that will display otherwise.

    The way I would do this is by typing in my adcopy

    {Keyword: Playstation3 Is Here}

    Anytime someone enters a match to my adgroup, whatever they typed in will show up in bold face font in my adcopy. If it is over 25 chars, then my default text "Playstation3 Is Here" will show.

    That make sense?
     
    cbogey88, Dec 15, 2007 IP
  12. vitalcoaching

    vitalcoaching Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #12
    I see, thanks for that - What does DKI stand for eactly?
     
    vitalcoaching, Dec 16, 2007 IP
  13. sweet_jasmine

    sweet_jasmine Banned

    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #13
    i hope not...

    at least i learn something new as i am still consider a newbie in this forum and also adwords
     
    sweet_jasmine, Dec 16, 2007 IP
  14. bl4ckmaN^

    bl4ckmaN^ Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,641
    Likes Received:
    60
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    165
    #14
    Dynamic Keywords Insertion

    Find out more here http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=261752
     
    bl4ckmaN^, Dec 16, 2007 IP
  15. vitalcoaching

    vitalcoaching Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #15
    Thanks - Appreciated
     
    vitalcoaching, Dec 16, 2007 IP
  16. CustardMite

    CustardMite Peon

    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    33
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #16
    One problem you may be having is that other people bidding on the same keywords may be selling more valuable products. For example, if you sell cheap telephone tables for £20 each, bidding on "furniture" or "tables", or even "telephone tables" will put you in competition with people who could be making £100 from each conversion (or more). So it's likely that they'll be able to outbid you.

    It is a problem I've had with low-value conversions in the past. Often, campaigns convert at 5% or less, and if you're only making $5 profit (for example) from each conversion, your breakeven bid is $0.25, so to make money your bids will be so low that you don't get much traffic.

    There isn't really a solution to it - improve your conversion rate or your margin.
     
    CustardMite, Dec 17, 2007 IP
  17. vitalcoaching

    vitalcoaching Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #17
    Thanks Custardmite, appreciated
     
    vitalcoaching, Dec 17, 2007 IP
  18. gear_jt

    gear_jt Peon

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #18
    make zhe keywords highly relevant
     
    gear_jt, Dec 17, 2007 IP
  19. Sem-Advance

    Sem-Advance Notable Member

    Messages:
    6,179
    Likes Received:
    296
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    230
    #19
    1. Are you tracking conversions?

    2. Did you do keyword research or just use the throw 6,000 keywords at the wall and hope something sticks concept??

    Overture
    No data for phrase: how to get over her

    Wordtracker
    No data for phrase: how to get over her


    3. Do you have a minimum 1,000 ads for those keywords?

    If you write just a few ads your quality score suffers.

    4. Are the keywords broken down into compacted ad groups? you would probably need a couple hundred.

    5. When you target large amounts of keywords at a time and have a bunch of zeros and under 10% ctrs then your quality score suffers and your CPC stays set high.

    6. Landing pages? Do you have at least 1,000 to target the 6,000 keywords?

    Too few landing pages your qualtiy score suffers and the more you will need to pay CPC.

    "You are an inexperienced gambler... walking into the halls of the worlds smartest casino ever known....."

    By me :)

    Slip up... and say bye bye checking account ;)

    Good luck!
     
    Sem-Advance, Dec 17, 2007 IP
  20. vitalcoaching

    vitalcoaching Peon

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answers:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    #20
    thanks Sem. I get your point ;)

    PS: yes, i do track and no I did not just throw in a 6000 irrelevant keywords and hope they stick. My collection is the result of in depth research and yes! The results were great but not beyond the $0.20 CPC.

    I did run at a time around 150 ad groups and the sum of my campaigns contain close to 50'000 keyphrases grouped in specific targets.

    I did not use different landing pages (only for split tests) and just started experimenting with DKI (thanks to an advice in this very thread).

    Thanks for a few good points by the way. I'll read your post again a few times until I get all the advice juice from it ;)
     
    vitalcoaching, Dec 17, 2007 IP