1. Advertising
    y u no do it?

Advertising (learn more)

Advertise virtually anything here, with CPM banner ads, CPM email ads and CPC contextual links. You can target relevant areas of the site and show ads based on geographical location of the user if you wish.

Starts at just $1 per CPM or $0.10 per CPC.

Learn PHP fast?

Discussion in 'PHP' started by sunster13, Oct 2, 2007.

Hi,

So today someone asked me if I'd be interested in a PHP/MySQL programmer job, and being a student, I'm very interested in the job as I'd prefer it anyday over a job at a fast-food restaurant or something.

I have worked with HTML and web development for a bit now, so it's not completely new to me.

What do you guys recommend for me to get up and going as fast as possible? I'm looking for eBooks, websites, or anything else you might know of.

Also, how long did it take for you to get good?

Thanks,
    sunster13

sunster13, Oct 2, 2007 IP
  2. smatts9

smatts9 Active Member

Best Answers:
    Start searching the web for tutorials. You can goto Barnes & Noble and they have programming sections with many PHP & mySQL books that walk you through learning the language. You just got to dive in somewhere and go for it, and you can always ask questions here.

smatts9, Oct 2, 2007 IP
    bogart and nico_swd like this.
  3. supercoltsfan

supercoltsfan Peon

Best Answers:
    I highly suggest getting at least two real books on PHP. One should be a general "teach you how to program in PHP" with some example apps and the other should be a reference book. Read the first book cover to cover and get a general idea of the concepts down. Then, use the reference book when you are actually sitting at the computer and need help with syntax.

The web is a great resource, too. But having a book you can take with you and read offline is helpful (and it makes you look smarter to your employer).

My 2 cents.

supercoltsfan, Oct 2, 2007 IP
    nico_swd likes this.
  4. tamilsoft

tamilsoft Banned